Windows switcher needs some advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DrHockey, Nov 6, 2008.

1. DrHockey macrumors newbie

So I'm ready to take the plunge switching from Windows to Mac - I was an Apple user throughout the 80's & 90's (I even interned at Apple when I was a grad student) but I've been off the reservation ever since. Very excited about this change but I'm a bit unsure on what to purchase.

I wouldn't call myself a power user - I play games but mostly Blizzard titles which all run under OSX. Besides the standard web stuff, email etc., I do some photo editing and will probably do a bit of video encoding as well.

I live in an NYC apartment, so I want to conserve space. Therefore, I'm thinking that either an iMac 24" (4GB ram) or MacBook Pro 15" is the way to go. I think for my purposes either of them would be more than enough - the MacBok offers me portability (even though I'm not sure I need it) and I have a desktop LCD that I could jack into (although it's an older screen and probably doesn't do it justice). I think the iMac is a little more powerful in the graphics department and definitely cuts down on the desktop clutter & wires.

Any thoughts on which way to go? Should be fine either way but this newbie could use a little guidance.

2. allmIne macrumors 6502a

allmIne

The macbook pro doesn't offer you any advantage, so go with the imac.

3. stuarthatto macrumors regular

If you don't need portability haven't you answered your own question?

Stu

4. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

MBP would be my recommendation; fast, powerful, portable (does not take up too much space), great performance, and an excellent screen. I have one and find it excellent.

Cheers and good luck

5. Wardotron macrumors member

Either option would be fine, it's purely whether you want a big screen or to sit in the lounge. Personally I have just bought a MBP 15" and it's more than equal to the average user's needs.

6. CalBoy macrumors 604