Windows Technical Preview

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by LTCMark, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. LTCMark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #1
    As I recall with the Windows 8 Preview, if you installed it, you could later upgrade to Windows 8. However, you would have to reinstall all your desktop applications once you upgraded; only your Metro apps would "transfer".

    Does anyone know if this is the case with Windows Technical Preview? I have read the fine print but did not see anything. As much as I would like to install the Technical Preview, reinstalling all my desktop applications was not so fun.
     
  2. Henk Poley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #2
    Yes, when switching between Windows editions, they tend to only keep your files, and only some very minimal configuration settings.
     
  3. bmac89 macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #3
    I was thinking of trying out the Windows Preview, however I am wondering what the best way to install and boot it is.

    Is it possible/easy to install and boot from an external hard drive on a mac (like Yosemite Beta & other OSX) or maybe VirtualBox might be a better option?

    I have a bootcamp partition but would rather leave that be and not risk screwing up any internal partitions.

    Has anyone tried it on mac yet?

    Thanks
     
  4. bmac89 macrumors 65816

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #4
    I originally tried installing Windows 10 Preview using VirtualBox however I got an error code 0XC0000260.

    However I successfully installed it using Parallels (Trial Version) and it works.
    Looks pretty bad and makes me appreciate Mac even more.
     
  5. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    What looks so bad about it?

    To me, it looks like any other Windows 7 or 8 install. In fact, I like 10 much better than 8 or 8.1 simply because they brought the Start Menu back and gave the option to use the Metro Interface or not.
     

Share This Page