Windows to Mac apps

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sryan, Jun 18, 2011.

1. sryan macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm considering buying a 2011 27" iMac with the i5 2400 and 6970M, but I want make sure the applications are available and will work for me.

First of all, which do you guys prefer: iWork 09 or Office for Mac 2011? How would you compare Office for Mac 2011 and Office 2010 on Windows, is it better or worse?

Does the Mail/iCal applications work well with a Microsoft Exchange mail server? I'm using Outlook 2010 with Exchange at work and Outlook always has problems connecting and syncing and crashes a lot.

I work in IT so I use the device manager and task manager a lot. Do I have to mess with updating drivers on the Mac, is there even a place to do this? Also can you check the utilization of disk/network/memory on OS X?

How is iTunes on the Mac? On Windows it is horribly slow and crashes a lot even with an i7 860. I use VLC anyway I just want to know if it is better on the Mac.

Installing/Uninstalling applications on Windows is painful. Some applications install a bunch of crap in random places (e.g. different folder locations and registry) and sometimes applications won't uninstall correctly. I usually use CCleaner and Revo uninstaller just to clean up some of the crap left behind. Does the Mac do this much cleaner?

Thanks for your responses.

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

Cannot comment on iWork vs. Office as I use neither.

Similarly, I have zero experience with Exchange so I cannot comment on Mail's integration with it.

As for updating drivers, this is handled mostly by Apple, at least for core Mac components. For third-party components this is handled on a per-manufacturer basis. Mac OS X comes with an application called Activity Monitor, which lets you monitor what your Mac is up to - disk, CPU, network included.