Windows usage

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nialzzz, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. Nialzzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    #1
    Hi there guys,

    I was looking at the parallels and VMware programs for the Mac so I could run a Windows OS to use my CAD software that's not currently Mac enabled.

    I was thinking, if I have a desktop PC running and connected to the network, would I be able to remote desktop in and use the system without having emulation software on my MacBook? My PC is plenty powerful enough and I have 154Mbs down + 14Mbs up on the internet.

    I'm running a 2015 MacBook Pro 15" w/ Retina - 2.5 Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD for my mobile work

    Cheers in advance.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Yes you could. Rather than using something like LogMeIn/TeamViewer, where you'll get some pretty bad lag even with a stable Internet connection, I'd suggest using the Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection application for a much quicker and hassle-free experience (providing you're on the same LAN/WAN network).
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    If you're even remotely serious about CAD, virtualization shouldn't even be crossing your mind. The performance hit is too big.

    Remote desktop would be better, yes.
     
  4. ixxx69 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    What CAD software are you using? The RDP solution works pretty well on a LOCAL network (i.e. not over an internet connection). The one thing about most typical RDP solutions is that GPU acceleration features make not work over an RDP connection.

    If the CAD usage is pretty simple and/or limited to mostly 2D, or it's just for occasional usage, a VM might be good enough.
     

Share This Page