Windows-Virus-safe Pendrive that works on the Mac = Mission Impossible??

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by saotomefirst, Oct 13, 2012.

1. saotomefirst macrumors regular

Hi there MacRumors Community!

First of all, I'm relatively new to the Mac world - only been a couple months since I own a MacBook Pro - so I'm sorry if this seems like a dumb question.

Now, my problem is this simple: I have a pendrive I protected against virus threats following instructions that can be widely found on the web. Among these instructions is to switch the pendrive's file system to NTFS, which, to my surprise, is not fully supported in the Mac environment. I can read files, but not write them... At least not without paying for a 3rd part application to do it for me... :(

If I reformat the disk to FAT32 it'll work on both Mac and Windows, but it'll also make my disk vulnerable to Windows viruses - which would be a problem to my home desktops...

Is there a Mac version for protecting a pendrive in the Windows world?

Thanks for your thoughts

P.S. I'm currently using Mountain Lion on my MacBook Pro and Windows XP and 7 in my home desktops.

2. Candunc macrumors member

Most virus' can't jump drives without user interaction, and an Anti-Virus on your PC would protect it, say Microsoft Security Essentials.

3. saotomefirst thread starter macrumors regular

Indeed, but then I'm counting on the others to prevent spreading viruses - ok I'm relatively safe at home but I don't use my pendrive just between my computers. The reason why I protected my pendrive's root was to protect it while at other's computers, so my disk doesn't happen to infect other machines.

4. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

Stooby Mcdoobie