Windows Virus-ta Ultimate 64 -=(OT)=-

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Tesselator, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Hahaha.. There was some guy a few days back that said Viruses on Windows was no longer a problem unless you're retarded or something.

    Well I guess I'm retarded. :D I installed a legit benchmark app from the developer's site that needed to turn off the UAC momentarily. In just the 10min. or so that it was down I got 7 different trojans. In making sure they were indeed trojans I came across THIS list: http://www.superadblocker.com/T/TARA.EXE-608.html. Those are ALL viruses! :eek:

    CAUTION!!
    THIS LIST MAY FRY YOUR CABLE MODEM
    :D IT'S THAT BIG! :D


    Being up against a force of THAT magnitude with THAT many viruses I guess even seasoned pros are subject to infection! BTW, it took 3 reboots to kill them all off.

    7 in 10min. LOL!!! I've run my Mac wide open for 3 years and never got even one. :D

    Just thought this was interesting. YMMV. :p
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    What's the infection vector? I've had UAC of on Vista for months without a problem. Even the registry changes to prevent the nagging that it is off.
     
  3. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #3
    It pretty much depends where you surf, what you install and of your anti virus software. Never install unknown programs.
     
  4. Boneoh macrumors 6502

    Boneoh

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #4
    That is really, really bad.

    I remember a few years ago I was setting up a server to play with. It was infected in the short time that I had between installing the CD and downloading the service pack. I was bummed.:(
     
  5. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Yup, of course I'm talking about BEFORE there are any antivirus applications installed. This Vista installation has maybe had 18 to 24 hours of total combined uptime. Surfing has been limited to technical sites - pretty much only. I guess they could have gotten in at anytime but I figured the UAC off time was the most likely. Vista was still being set up and everything was default except the wallpaper :) - so no virus killer had been selected yet. I mounted it in Parallels and Parallels offered to install it's Virus Detector/Killer. I said yes, updated the DB and boom 7 were found. So I suppose it could be 7 in 24 hours if I'm wrong about it being only during UAC down time. Still that's pretty ridiculous!

    That list is what impressed me to post a thread about it. Gawd, there are more viruses for Windows than there are applications - both free and commercial. :eek:
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'm having very strong doubts. A trojan is still going to require user intervention. What are the network settings and topography?
     
  7. andymodem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #7
    Are you connecting unpatched systems directly to the internet with no firewall or NATing?

    I would be interested to see the screenshot of your Anti Virus program showing the 7 viruses it found.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    You guys are seriously doing something wrong to get trojans that easily.

    I mean really, the threat is there yeah but not nearly as bad as you make it out to be. Getting trojans between installation and service pack updates? Come on.

    There are plenty of awesome free low-resource AV apps out there now that you could easily run.
     
  9. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Yup, there's NAT, Firewall, and windows firewall. And now there's PIS - as you can see in the screeny.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #10
    Yeah, running windows is downright immoral. Hehehe, Sorry, just couldn't resist. :D
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    I'm afraid it's not Vista's fault but yours. Behind a router if you visit any websites without doing Windows Updates, Flash, Acrobat & Java updates with no AV protection you're going to pick up malware like a cat does fleas. Even on reputable sites you'll pick **** up from malware ads. Monder gets in by checking for vulnerabilities then installs the fraud pack, the backdoor for bot control and probably a rootkit soon after. Disabling UAC just gave your already malware infested setup enough green light for you to notice.

    Since XP SP2's firewall in 2004 PC's out of the box getting infected by directly connecting to the internet is a thing of the past.

    Congrats on running your Mac wide open but I can't give you any kudos for blaming Windows cos you've ran it pants down. :D
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    I'd like to see some proof.
     
  13. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #13
    You know if this was about OSX there would be 20 people saying "its not a virus, its a trojan" by now.

    Trojans are installed by the user. They come with programs appearing to be safe, hence the name trojan horse. So you installed them yourself, maybe from a browser plug in or from whatever program you downloaded. Just be more aware of what you are installing.

    Getting a virus on Windows these days is pretty hard to do, youd need some old ass version of XP as well. Why should hackers bother with making a virus when there are millions of people who will install things packed with trojans?
     
  14. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #14
    See for yourself - setup a fresh XP or Vista VM and visit the fake anti virus sites. You'll find the URL's listed on bleepingcomputer's boards or spywarewarrior's list of fake programs. I don't even dare with my fully patched Windows systems, they are IP blocked on the hosts file because they are using new exploits which haven't been plugged yet. The only OS I use for that is Ubuntu because even the Mac gets hassle trying to install it's 'video codec'.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    I'd like proof of it from reputable sites.
     
  16. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #16
    dont install the codec or the fake antivirus software, simple
     
  17. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #18
    You don't get a chance to say no if they're using an exploit.
     
  18. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #19
    I got trojans before on my mom's Dell. She never consented to those. So not all trojans get permission from the user. Who cares, Windows with or without NAT, Windows Fraud/Fake-wall, and Norton will stop viruses/trojans/rootkits/worms/etc. My Dad's ThinkPad was 1 year old, had NAT and Fraudwall turned on and the latest Norton updated with latest definitions. Yesterday, he cleaned out 50 viruses, 13 trojans, 3 rootkits, and ... umm I forgot how many worms. Oh, and he's a very technology-knowledgeable guy, not the average joe. He's been using computers and programming longer than I've been alive.
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    SnowLeopard2008 I'd really, really like to know how to replicate your instance. When I try it just doesn't happen and I've tried going to shady sites and using barely known software.

    Why can't I get infected? :confused:
     
  20. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Hah, fair enough. But really though, for someone to get a trojan for virus you have to be going out of your way to opening spam email, clicking on obviously bad links, downloading and opening or even installing files you know are things you know are from less than trustworthy sources.

    As long as you are running a good OS (XP is the bare minimum) fully updated and patched, a solid browser, some kind of AV (although that's not required) and use common sense you will be fine.

    There are so many good free lightweight non-resource heavy anti-virus apps out there nowadays it's almost silly not to run one. Avira AntiVirus is my personal preference, but many others will do (such as NOD, Avast, etc.). They're all very low impact too (won't slow you down when gaming or whatnot).
     
  21. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #22
    Never consented to the trojans or never consented to the active-x controls websites say she "has" to install? Your dads story sounds like its made up, how is it even possible to get 50 viruses on a modern version of windows?
     

Share This Page