Windows Vista 64-bit on a May 2008 Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ScottC2105, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. ScottC2105 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    I have had my Macbook for a month or two now (bought in June, built in May) and I love it. I want to install Windows Vista on my Macbook in time for Warhammer Online that is due in September.

    I just installed 4GB ram sucessfully and want to use it all in Windows so I would like to use 64-bit.

    I have created a partition of 64GB for Windows (enough for the system and game I believe) but is there anything I need to download/burn in order for me to use 64-bit Windows? Such as a drivers disc etc...

    Thanks.

    Edit: Forgot to mention, I will be using a Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit with SP1 DVD. Is this ok? Does bootcamp work with a SP1 DVD?
     
  2. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #2
    Your MacBookPro supports Vista 64bit SP1. Just follow the BootCamp instructions. I found that I needed at least a 66 gig partition as well.
    There is a BootCamp 2.1 update for Vista 64 that you can download and run from Vista.
     
  3. ScottC2105 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    I have a little issue with 2.1 updating, it crashed and then kept teling me the file bootcamp64.msi was not a feature available as it was on another network device.

    I ran the Windows Installer Clean-up Tool, restarted and tried again. Worked first time.

    All seems to be working fine, if only there was a fan controller for Boot Camp. Speedfan doesn't work and Input Remapper goes nuts on my Macbook Pro, flashing my keyboard and things.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Their have been reports of speedfan f*cking things up try a search, the easy way is to use smcfancontrol and set the fans RPM whilst in OS X then reboot into windows ( not shutdown) and they will stay the same RPM you set them at whilst in OS X
     
  5. ScottC2105 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #5
    Only issue with that is if I put my MBP to sleep the fans reset and I was hoping to keep the fans down when idle in windows and faster while running a game ("the game" Warhammer Online ;)).
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    you cant have your cake and eat it all of the time :D

    edit who said anything about putting it to sleep you only have to reboot into windows, granted it's a work round but it does work ,anyway's you could always reboot back into OS X once you have finished playing whatever reset the fans and then reboot back into windows
     
  7. ScottC2105 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    I guess I should be ok if I set the fans, boot into windows, play then go back to OSX. I only want windows for warhammer :D.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Warhammer (the RTS, haven't played the MMO myself) is awesome. I too have an 08 MBP running Vista 64. Runs fantastic! Seems odd that Boot Camp 2.1 didn't install correctly; it installed fine on mine. Did you ever get it working by chance?
     
  9. chippypoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #9
    This is an exact question that I am currently debating with myself. I am also wanting to install Bootcamp on my macbook 2.4ghz to play Warhammer come this September, however, I'm not to sure that it can handle it (I have the exact same specs as you). I don't have xp/vista installed via bootcamp yet, but i'm thinking instead of taking the time to do that, I could sell this macbook, and scrounge to find a way to upgrade myself to the Pro with the 512 graphics card in it, lol, but i'd prefer not to do that.

    How fluidly does your laptop run with bootcamp? Any hangups? B/c according to warhammer's website http://www.warhammeronline.com/faq/tech_specs.php clearly shows that the requirements aren't too high, but look JUST high enough to be out of reach for the macbook.

    Also something to highlight is that it says that the GMA 4500 chip is supported and doesn't mention the x3100 that is in the macbook, this is something else I'm concerned about as well.
     
  10. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I know WoW isn't a super graphic intensive game, but I run it max settings and get 40-60 fps (30 at the lowest).
     

Share This Page