Windows Vista Audio Problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ParanoidRobot18, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. ParanoidRobot18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi

    I'm running Windows Vista on a new 20inch aluminium iMac and about every minute I get a crackling sound that lasts for about a second. It's like the sound you get when your skipping sections in a video or tape.

    It doesn't matter what app I'm using, whether it's a game or just watching a youtube video it skips in the sound.

    I've reinstalled the boot camp drivers twice, then downloaded the newest Realtek drivers and no luck. It's not a hardware problem either as the sound works fine in Leopard. I also looked on the Apple Support forums and I have read lots of similar problems.

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks.
     
  2. nigrunze macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #2
    Give this a shot.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=237171

    Worked for me in XP.

    I just downloaded the executable installer and then the sound was much clearer.

    EDIT: Didn't notice you downloaded the Realtek drivers from their website.

    I still have 2 questions for you though.

    1) Do you remember if you installed version 1.82 of the drivers.(That was the first one I tried and it worked)
    2) Did you try downloading the High Definition Audio drivers or did you try something else. The new iMacs use the High Definition Audio card.

    Here's the link if you'd like to try it again: http://tinyurl.com/u5paq

    If it still doesn't work, then I'm out of ideas.
     
  3. ParanoidRobot18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for responding but I did try both of those methods.

    It seems to suffer more with HD stuff, for e.g. when I was playing orange box it's more frequent.
     
  4. Dj-Grobe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #4
    Wel, try this :)
    Juts disable wifi and test if the toruble disapear.....
    Not only qit wifi conection, go to system > hardware devices, and amrk wifi device like disable, then test audio.
    If you need after end test, enable again wifi.
    If work back and confirm please.
     
  5. ParanoidRobot18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #5
    I disabled Wifi by just disabling it through the taskbar icon.

    I didn't get any sound skips after that so I guess it's a temporary solution. I read about turning off the Wifi before but I think i forgot about it so thanks :)

    However most of my time on Windows right now will probably be playing TF2 online and I use a Wifi connection so I can't really turn it off.
     
  6. NCRAW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #6
    I cant ind the wifi under windows XP. Where is exactly please? thanks for your help.

    I found that sound quality hugely improved with the nov 1st driver version. didnt see much with the 1.82 ver compared to the previous one.

    Also just to note, I just logged into leopard to update software and played music from my ipod. WOW what a diff in quality. Come on Apple. get realtek to do something about their rubbish driver. Ive seen this software back in 2000 so this is real old stuff. Who cares about shower sound effect, just give us crisp sound quality. its not hard!!!

    Where can I complain to apple?
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    It's hard to have quality for windows.

    A lot of wintel machines suffers from unclean/poor/skipping audio due to cheap hardware components and poorly made audio driver. At least this seems to be just a software issue.
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Sorry there you made a mistake and i corrected it.
     
  9. NCRAW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #9
    I have to disagree with that one. I think u can def get great windows sound quality but the realtek driver is absolute out o date crap
     
  10. TESEV macrumors member

    TESEV

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #10
    Don't bother, unless you're having the same problems in Mac OS X. This appears to be a windoze issue.
     
  11. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #11
    It appears to be a problem with either the Mac hardware or the Apple provided drivers.

    Think before you post.
     
  12. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    I never equate someone who spells it "windoze" as someone who can think :)
     
  13. TESEV macrumors member

    TESEV

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #13
    Would you settle for an elaboration? I said this appears to be a windoze issue. Here's why I think that:

    - The problem only appears in Windows. In Mac OS X all is well.
    - There are several posts here and on Apple Discussions about it and the general consensus is that it is a driver issue or maybe a conflict between it and the wireless driver. Some are saying that other PCs have this issue.
    - I updated the audio driver on my aluminum iMac to v.1.83 and it fixed my audio problem (running XP Pro).
    - I assume that Apple doesn't make the drivers and is only providing them. Correct me if I'm wrong as I don't know.
    - I reserve the right to spell (or misspell) windoze and any other words in whatever way i please :p
     
  14. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    No it seems to be a windows driver problem because windows runs fine.


    There are less hardware combinations on a mac, it is easier to write and test a few drivers than the multitude of drivers needed for windows.
    Which means a driver issue :)
    Apple might not right them but they do get on to the manufacturer if there is something wrong. with the myriad of devices available for windows it is harder for MS to do this.


    Spell it anyway you want. I reserve the right to think that people who spell it that way don't think though :)
     
  15. TESEV macrumors member

    TESEV

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #15
    :sigh: whatever. I think that if it isn't working in windoze then the problem lies there somewhere, be it the drivers or a nefarious conspiracy by apple to make us hate windoze or what. I'm just being broad. Lets not get into an argument about the intricate technicalities of a single word.

    :p
     
  16. Broken Friday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #16
    Lets try to figure out a solution to this problem instead of arguing over which company is divine, and which isn't.

    I have the same audio problem, and it is annoying. All I really want is for Vista to recognize my Mbox as a playback device.
     
  17. TESEV macrumors member

    TESEV

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #17
    :(
    Have you taken any steps to fix the problem? If so, what have you tried (and what are you running)? If you have RealTek audio, they updated their driver a few days ago; I was running 1.82 and when I upgraded to 1.83 it solved the problem.

    As for your Mbox, i don't know what that is so if you could explain or direct me to a website i might be able to further understand this particular instance (unless someone else helps first).
     
  18. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    I meant "write" but i was rushing so i spelt it wrong my mistake.

    As for it being a windoze [sic] issue. Is Linux at fault when you buy a USB camera that doesn't work for it? I always thought it was because of the manufacturer not supplying a driver.

    What about a Mac Pro when you want to use a new GeForce 8800GT in it. That's nvidia's fault for not providing a driver... oh wait bad example because in this case Apple is also holding them back :D

    Anyway if it was a windows problem then all sound cards would have issues. If one does then it's either a driver issue (not windows fault) or a hardware issue (still not windows fault).

    It's like blaming Toyota when your prius gets a blow out. Blame the bloody tyre company not Toyota!

    OMGWTFBBQ! Are you telling me that a driver fixed it? Wow that kind of proves it wasn't a windows issue because if it was windows then no amount of driver fiddling could fix it!
     
  19. ParanoidRobot18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #19
    I have reinstalled the network drivers like TESEV said on the Apple support forums and also updated the drivers to 1.83. I think I may gotten it once in about an hour and a half of TF2 but even then I'm not sure if it happened. It's definitely much better than before, maybe even perfect.

    Thanks for everyones help.
     
  20. NCRAW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #20
    The echo stuff and all the weird noises are long gone after installing 1.82 but thats not my problem. my problem is that the sound quality is really bad compared to osx or when i run music off my dell lap top. it sounds very deep and washed out. People saying that it is perfect if u run external speakers. it has to be the realtek audio manager that is trying to modify the sound somehow!!

    ps didnt notice any diff between 1.82 and 1.83
     

Share This Page