Windows Vista Retail problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by fud122, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. fud122 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #1
    A while back I purchased Windows Vista Retail with the assumption that windows can be installed on one computer at any time. I don't have my old computer anymore and I want to install this Vista on my new computer. Now I can't activate my copy even though its installed on one computer only! I thought the retail copy would let me install windows on any computer, just not more than one at the time? Hence its not attached to one computer like OEM.

    I can't contact MS about it because they want to charge me to just speak to them and I refuse to pay up 60 dollars for that. What are my options here? I dont want to give MS any more money!! Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Did you try calling MS Tech Support, or MS's Product Activation Center? If you call the latter, people have reported that they've been able to get set up by Microsoft without having to pay, but I haven't had to do this myself.
     
  3. aussie.damo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #3
    You are correct, the Product Activation Center should be able to help you with this. I have done this without being charged.

    Damo
     
  4. Slowstick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #4
    Ahhhhh... another Windows Activation problem....there are certainly a handful of these with obvious reasons!:D

    Anyway, MS Tech support costs money but MS Product Activation Center should help you for free with no cost. When did you purchase this liscense of Windows. Is it a upgrade or full version?
     
  5. fud122 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #5
    Thanks. I did try calling them and they understood my case and reset my copy free of charge.
     

Share This Page