Windows Vista Superfetch

Discussion in 'macOS' started by azurepalm, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. azurepalm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #1
    Does Mac OSX have an equivalent technology/feature to Windows Vista's SuperFetch? It'll help me decide how much RAM (2GB or 4GB) to buy for my new Macbook Pro.

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    OS X has rather aggressive memory management that'll keep recent application data in inactive but available mode.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    Yes. It's called caching.

    Superfetch is Microsoft's version of the RDF in Mac Products.
     
  4. iTim314 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    U.S.
    #4
    It's exactly the same situation as "Widgets" and "Gadgets." Totally not the same thing. :rolleyes::apple:

    Haha, sorry. Had to throw that it.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I believe the OP wants to know if OS X replicates the recently/most used application precaching SuperFetch does.
     
  6. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    I know.. Today has made me more sarcastic than normal. My apologies to the OP.

    OSX uses the same basic concept for caching programs that were recently used but I don't believe it's called anything special.

    Could be wrong. I'd have to delve into the white papers to see.
     
  7. DAAAAAAAVE macrumors regular

    DAAAAAAAVE

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    I know this thread is way old but is there a way to do the whole ReadyBoost thing on mac? (use usb flashdrives as extra RAM)
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Why? Flash drives are slow. They are even slower than hard drives.
     
  9. DAAAAAAAVE macrumors regular

    DAAAAAAAVE

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    i just meant a way to temporarily increase RAM without actually adding sticks of RAM
     
  10. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Like with a magic wand or something? No I don't think that's possible.
     
  11. No1451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #11
    Besides, thats not even what ReadyBoost does. ReadyBoost basically moves your virtual memory out onto a compatible bit of flash memory. The idea isn't to add to ram but to alleviate the slowdown that will occur system-wide when you add more read/writes to the hdd.
     
  12. DAAAAAAAVE macrumors regular

    DAAAAAAAVE

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    well that is something learnt for me today. i know the basics (from like year 9 computing class so it is a bit hazy) but beyond that im pretty sucky
     

Share This Page