Windows Volume when booting, never installed via Bootcamp

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by iliasp, Jun 3, 2018.

  1. iliasp macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #1
    upon hitting the option key on startup I get a windows volume and my Mac OS one
    I have never installed windows via bootcamp, I have a parallels 12 installation with a windows 10 vm

    why is that?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #2
    Can you boot to that drive? I'm not a Parallels user, but since its a VM machine, it doesn't partition your drive, but rather lives in a directory under MacOS. Do you maybe have an external drive plugged in name Windows?
     
  3. iliasp, Jun 3, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018

    iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #3
    no external drives
    when I boot to this volume I get a windows 10 recovery blue screen

    I have two disks, a 512GB flash and a 1TB SSD
     

    Attached Files:

  4. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #4
    One more weird thing to accompany the problem, I have used bootcamp assistant only to download the bootcamp drivers software for another install, never did I create a bootcamp partition, but the utility now seems broken, I only get this error no matter what I do
    "The installer disc could not be found."
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #5
    Sorry to bump this but does anybody have any idea how to fix this?
    these are shots from my MacBook Pro which is perfectly fine
     

    Attached Files:

  6. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #6
    It feels bad bumping but I am in a dead end :Q
    I really don't want to do through a clean installation if its something that can be fixed
    I would really appreciate some help

    thank you in advance
     
  7. SketchyClown macrumors member

    SketchyClown

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Location:
    Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
    #7
  8. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #8
    As you can see from my previous message this is not possible due to the error in the Bootcamp assistant

    #4
     
  9. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #9
    Wild guess: Maybe when you downloaded the bootcamp drivers, OSX mounted a temporary disk image to uncompress the download, and that temporary image is still hanging around.

    One way to check is to run Disk Utility and have a look at the list of mounted drives and images in the left pane.

    Also, as mentioned by another poster, have you done a search for Windows folders lying around on your mac?
     
  10. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #10
    Nope, this is not just a mounted volume
    Bootcamp had an error when downloading the drivers, then tried removing the partition it created but it was just laying around without doing anything for hours, so I just quit and now I am having this
     
  11. shafez macrumors member

    shafez

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Egypt
    #11
    Are you the first user?, There was Windows installed on your machine and it was not removed the right way using Boot Camp, instead only the partition was deleted leaving the windows record in the boot partition.
    To fix this you need to erase the disk and not the partition and do a clean install.
    Leaving it as it is will not harm your Mac in anyway.
     
  12. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #12
    Based on what you've said, it seems Bootcamp Assistant did indeed create a partition, then for whatever reason, things went wrong and it wasn't cleanly backed out / deleted. As Shafez said above, the small boot partition in your 500GB SSD is holding a list of boot options that claims Windows is available to boot to, and hence offering that as an option.

    What do you mean by "512GB flash"? I don't think that's the right name for it. I can see from the output of diskutil you posted earlier that your mac boots from it. What sort of mac do you have?
     
  13. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #13
    iMac 5K Late 2015
    1) Apple Blade PCIe Drive 512GB
    2) 1TB SSD 2.5"
    These are the disks that replaced my fusion drive (32GB PCIe , 1TB HDD)
     
  14. shafez macrumors member

    shafez

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Egypt
    #14
    - Create a Boot Camp windows partition and follow instructions till you reboot to windows Setup.
    - Reboot back to macOS and go into Boot Camp and remove the windows partition.

    This should solve your problem and remove the windows partition from boot.

    Tested.
     
  15. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #15
    I can't
    it fails every time and bootcamp stalls with a message saying that it reverts the configuration by removing the partition
    I suppose this happened the first time and now that why I see a windows option upon booting

    #4
     
  16. shafez macrumors member

    shafez

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Egypt
    #16
  17. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #17
    please read the message before yours
    not possible
     
  18. shafez macrumors member

    shafez

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Egypt
    #18
    I Did, #4 and #5, This error is because you didn't select the Windows Installer ISO file, You need Windows ISO file to continue the Boot Camp process.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      983.4 KB
      Views:
      22
  19. iliasp thread starter macrumors member

    iliasp

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Greece
    #19
    Mounted the EFI partition and deleted two folders in my case, boot and Microsoft, left the APPLE intact
    Problem solved

    Thank you for your help and your time
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page