Windows will not install

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by alphaod, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I have this issue where whatever version of Windows I try to install when it gets past the initial software load up to the part where it asks what language you want it will just stop and stay there. With Vista it's after the scrolling progress bar, I get the curntains background and that's it. Nothing more. With Windows 7, same thing—after the swirly Windows logo appears and then it should ask what to do, it doesn't show that window.

    I've tried:
    1) Ripping out all my drives, except the one I need.
    2) Installing Snow Leopard client and trying BootCamp
    3) Change video cards
    4) Disconnect peripherals
    5) Reset PRAM, SMC, etc.

    The know the disks are good since I have tested them, I've tried almost a dozen different copies of Windows from XP to Vista to 7; all with the same result. I can't install at all.

    It's quite frustrating since Apple has no clue to what's going on, and I can't take this to the Apple Store seeing that I don't have a car.

    Anyone care to suggest any way to alleviate this issue?
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    I can't recall which MP you have, but I'll take a stab and guess it's either an '06 or '07 model.

    Assuming this is the case, EFI32 doesn't handle the ISO spec used on the disks with file version data. There's a work around, and gugucom's posted it.Take a look at this, and this, and see if that solves it for you.

    Hope this helps, and isn't off the mark. :)
     
  3. alphaod thread starter macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Thanks for the reply; unfortunately that that's difficult to do seeing that the linked website says use ImgBurn and I can't even get Windows to install.

    And I have a 2009 Mac Pro :)
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    It's a different issue then. :(

    I think this was covered in another thread some time back, but I can't recall what the title was. :confused:

    Sorry it's not much help. :eek:
     

Share This Page