Windows Won't Boot? (win7x86 iMac i5)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by damir662, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. damir662 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #1
    Just installed Win7 and it wont't boot for some reason. I get "windows is starting up" and then it goes to black screen?

    Also, while here. Is there any way to get the iMac to ask you what OS to boot at every startup without having to press down the option key?

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    You could try a third party boot loader like rEFIt. http://refit.sf.net

    B
     
  3. damir662 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    thank you!
     
  4. damir662 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
  5. Grannyville7989 macrumors 6502a

    Grannyville7989

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Also remove any extra cables plugged in to your Mac USB Ethernet and let it boot well before you plug them back in. Just hitting F8 or any keybseueing the boot process should give you more info on where things are going afoul.

    B
     
  7. damir662 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #7
    it wont boot into safemode either since its the "first startup"...
     
  8. damir662 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #8
    will try the x64 and see how that goes instead
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Still, if you have anything other than mouse or kb hooked up, unplug it until your install is done. Keep it simple.

    B
     
  10. hundert macrumors regular

    hundert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #10
    Why u need to open a thread if you can just google "imac windows 7 black screen"

    -you will need to download a file and put it on a bootable USB flash drive and only then start windows installation. It is all on the official site, google it.
     
  11. hundert macrumors regular

    hundert

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #11
    There you go, I googled for you. I been there, I done it. It works. You need an empty flash drive of at least 256mb. Follow instructions here:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3173
     
  12. damir662 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #12
    THANK YOU!!!

    will try it later!
     

Share This Page