Windows won't install on MacBook! Installer never asks how to format drive

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Spaceba11One, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. Spaceba11One macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #1
    I've followed the directions from Boot Camp perfectly, and I know what the error is, but I don't know how to fix it.

    When I get to the step in the Windows Installer where I'm supposed to select how I would like the disk to be formatted (you're supposed to pick FAT or NTFS but not choose "leave the current file system intact") the problem is that it never asks. I pick the partition I want to install on (C:partition3 <BOOTCAMP>[FAT32]) and then it says Windows installer is checking your disks, then it just starts installing and when It reboots I just get the disk error message and have to boot back into OS X. It never asks how I want to format the volume. Any ideas why this happens and how to fix it? Thanks a lot!
     
  2. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #2
    Retry it again. You do not need to format when you use bootcamp.
     
  3. Spaceba11One thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    I've tried at least 5 times. The Boot Camp manual specifically says that Windows will need to reformat even though Boot Camp already did, otherwise Windows won't work.
     
  4. bostic220 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
  5. bostic220 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
  6. neilhart macrumors 6502

    neilhart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #6
    What is the version of Windows and the source of the CD?

    Neil
     
  7. kiya macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #7
    I'm having the exact same problem. I'm trying to install XP Pro with SP2 OEM license.

    Any advice would be well appreciated!
     
  8. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #8
    I also had the problem when I got my macbook last march. (It's not uncommon since Leopard as it seems). Back than I did some research and found a website with a workaround. Though I never tried it because I decided that a virtual machine is enough for me.

    The link is in german: http://www.le-phil.de/index.php/2008/01/17/os_x_leopard_bootcamp_funktioniert_nicht

    But here's a translation of mine for everyone who doesn't speak german:

    1) Get FreeDos: here's a link to the .iso (not the same as in the above link but it should do the trick: http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/distributions/1.0/fdfullcd.iso. Now you have to burn the .iso onto a CD. For example with the Disk Utility. Like seen here: [​IMG]


    2) Open Bootcamp Assistant and create a new Windows-Partition erstellen.
    When the assistant is done with making the partition it will aks you if you want to begin with the Windows installation. Until now you should always have clicked "YES". But this time you have to quit the assistant.
    [​IMG]

    3) Now insert your burned CD from above and restart your machine with the C-key pressed down (which means that it will start from CD)
    FreeDos opens and you should see "continue to boot Free Dos..."
    Press ENTER

    4) After FreeDos has load, you'll see a list with 5 options. [Note: I don't now what these options are, because I never tried the method myself, but the guy from the blog above took option 5]

    Now the normal DOS command line should appear.
    Now you have to format the C-partition with "format c:" (withouth "" of course)

    You have to verify with "YES"
    Before you can format, you have to give it a name, just type in "BOOTCAMP"

    Now you have to restart your computer. After OS X has been started, start the Bootcamp assistant again. And there you have to continue the Windows installation (open Bootcamp->Continue>Begin Windows Installation. Now insert now you Windows XP SP2 CD).

    Now you shoudn't get the errors and can install Windows as wanted.


    End of translation.

    So I think you should be able to do it now, please comment back if it's working (or if any steps are missing), as I said that I never tried it myself.
     

Share This Page