Windows works on Parallels, but not Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by switcher3365, Mar 29, 2009.

  1. switcher3365 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #1
    I have the latest build of Parallels 3.0 (build 5636). I use Windows Vista Basic through the Boot Camp partition.

    Parallels launches Windows with no problems. However, when I try to boot Windows Vista Basic through Boot Camp, the black screen with the green bar and the Microsoft Corporation copyright appears, and then before it switches to the next screen, I get a split second blue screen of death and then the computer reboots itself. I video taped the incident, but since the blue screen of death scrolls the message onto the screen, the computer rebooted before it could tell me what specific file may be corrupted.

    I've already tried the following:

    1. Booted the computer with the Windows installation DVD to do a "start up" repair attempt.

    2. Created a new virtual machine.

    3. Done a system restore to before the new version of Parallels was installed.


    There was a time when Parallels froze and I had to "force quit" it. That could have corrupted something with the Boot Camp partition. Could that be the case?
     
  2. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    It's possible Parallels has corrupted the boot loader.

    Have you tried it with VMWare Fusion? You can download a trial version to test.
     
  3. switcher3365 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #3
    That's is that I am figured. I went to the Windows control panel through Parallels do disable the automatic reboot when there is an error, and the screen didn't tell me where the error occurred. I've been in a back and forth with the Parallels email support, but none of their solutions worked. I might need to just delete and reinstall the boot camp partition and Windows. Thank goodness I only use it on MS Money and a few games.
     
  4. switcher3365 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #4
    I have not used VMWare Fusion, but if I did, would it correct any Boot Camp damage that Parallels would have cased?
     
  5. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I wouldn't have thought so. You could try reinstalling SP1 through Parallels and see if that helps.
     
  6. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    It might, it might not. VMWare Fusion is like Parallels, but it will probably give you a better idea of what's wrong based upon it's log files. The other thing is that Parallels might be corrupted in such a way to hurt the booting of Windows. That's why if you use VMWare as a test to see if you can boot successfully, then that means Parallels is at fault. Worst comes to worse you might have to reinstall XP SP2.
     
  7. switcher3365 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #7
    I ended up reinstalling Windows Vista Basic through Boot Camp. I have not opened it with Parallels. (The problem was with Windows not booting through Boot Camp. It worked fine through Parallels).

    I think the issue has to do with a Windows update. I upgraded to SP1 and it was fine. I put the Boot Camp 2.1 update in and it is fine. I have 35 other updates (one year's worth) to download and install. When I put those in, I had the boot programs again. I was able to do a System Restore to fix it. I just have to find out which update is causing the problem and go from there. Ugh....


     

Share This Page