Windows XP - AirPort Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by John Doe 57, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I'm trying to connect my Windows XP laptop to my AirPort Extreme. But it won't connect. It says invalid IP address and also keeps disabling in the acquiring IP address mode.
     
  2. McGiord, Mar 14, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    Sometimes you need to install apple updates drivers/software to make it work.
    Also in Windows XP I have experienced issues with the network key that requires you to enter it in Hex.
    ________
    weed vaporizers
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    Open the start menu, click on run.
    Type 'cmd'
    type 'ipconfig /release_all'

    After a few moments, try connecting again. FAiling that, restart to make sure it tries to get a new IP address.

    TEG
     
  4. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    It says that the IP address is 0.0.0.0. I did the cmd and the ipconfig /_all thing. It didn't really work. What to do?
     
  5. McGiord, Mar 14, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #5
    Is your Airport Extreme setup already with the Airport Utility?
    Is your pc network setup to obtain the ip address automatically, DHCP?
    ________
    buy glass pipes
     
  6. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    It tries to obtain the IP address but it can't. Can I just manually enter the IP address? I should let you know it is a Latitude laptop. I've heard of some problems with this particular model.
     
  7. Diabeetus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #7
    i'm getting the same exact problem. i installed the drivers, and that cmd does nothing at all.
     
  8. dsnort macrumors 68000

    dsnort

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    In persona non grata
    #8
    I'm pretty sure this is an XP to Dell wireless drivers issue, not a prob with the AE.

    You must use the "Wireless Zero Configuration Utility" in XP to set up the connection, (Google it to find out how to open WZC).

    Also run "msconfig" and check your start up items. Make sure there isn't something on the start up menu relating to Wireless connection as this can overwrite changes you make in WZC on start up.
     

Share This Page