Windows XP installer does not detect BootCamp Partition?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nihcnihc, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. nihcnihc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #1
    I've been having trouble trying to Bootcamp my MBP because during the installation process, the installer does not see the 2nd partition that was made during the bootcamp process. I have last year's model of MBP and a burned copy of a slightly older Win XP cd. (not sure if that would be the case) Any help on the idea of what could be happening?

    Everything runs fine until it asks to select which partition I want to choose to install Windows XP, where it only senses my Mac partition and not the Windows. thanks
     
  2. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #2
    hm....how big did you partition the drive? and do two physical partitions show on your OSX desktop?

    You may need to go back into the bootcamp installer and reselect that partition and select Erase and Make Windows Partition; so it can create a MBR file (150MB~200MB partition E) and also a spot for your windows partition (C:/)


    And also, what version is Windows you have?

    As long as its Windows XP Pro SP2 or higher you should be fine.
     
  3. nihcnihc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #3
    I partitioned it at 5, 20, and 32 gigs to try it out, and it still doesnt show the partition in the system installation. the physical partition does show on my OSX desktop so I know it did do the partition. I just dont know what version of Windows I have. I dont remember...I just know it is an old copy of XP and it was burned onto a blank CD-R....
     
  4. fivanoski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #4
    I cannot install Windowx XP SP2 on MAC

    I have this problem. I'm doing all required operations to do so. I made partition with Boot Camp for my windows and everything seems to be ok. But when I click start installation of Windows, the computer says that cannot recognize the CD of installation. I tried with 3 different windows Cd's but still the same story.

    Does anyone know what is happening?????:(
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Your CDs are not what Apple expected, i.e. retail, non-upgrade copies of XPSP2. That doesn't mean it won't work, just that it isn't what Boot Camp Assistant wants to see.

    As long as you really so have a bootable SP2 CD just leave it in the drive, reboot your Mac holding down the Option key. You'll see the Boot Camp Menu which should offer to boot from your CD. Boot from the CD and install away.

    B
     
  6. dilson123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #6
  7. renoir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    #7
    yes - i too had the exact same problem. at the XP setup screen, it only shows the mac partition
     
  8. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #8
    You need to make sure you format the partition you made for Boot Camp. Otherwise, the installer will do just what you describe: only show the OSX partition.
     
  9. fivanoski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #10
    Well it doesnot appear nothing when I hold down alt-option key while rebooting and the windows Cd is still inside the drive. Still no solution, and I am becoming angry :(
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Provide more info.

    Which Mac? Are you using a built-in, wired or wireless keyboard?

    Does the boot menu show at all or just show the Mac partition?

    B
     
  11. fivanoski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #12
    It is Mac OS X 10.5.6, 2.4 GhZ Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM. Thats the exact model of my mac. I'm using keyboard as every other mac lap top - built-in. When I made the partition on Boot Camp, I cannot install windows because it does not recognize it, but like you said I tried to hold alt-option key while reboot and it shows to choose just to enter in the main software (Mac OS x - the one that I have it). The Windows Cd was inside and I was doing it with the partition. It shows me the same. Than I removed the partition and again the same process, but still I'm choosing to enter just in MAC OS X.
    Solution ?
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    If you are not seeing a CD when you get to the boot menu, your Mac is not recognizing the CD as bootable. Are you sure you have bootable media?

    B
     
  13. fivanoski macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #14
    I dont know if the CD or media or whatever is bootable ... Still after trying with 10 Windows Cd's some CD will not be just media CD. Therefore, the problem occurs just when I put the Windows CD, because Boot Camp can not recognize it even if the CD driver read it like operational disc. On the most of the Windows CD's I can open the content of the CD, but when applied to boot camp, the boot camp is not recognizing the content of the CD. How can I see if my media is bootable or not ?
     
  14. questmcoupe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #15
    What ever happened with this? I'm having the same issue with the official Windows 7 and a Windows XP DVD.
     
  15. questmcoupe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #16
    I used Disk Utility to burn another copy of Windows 7 and it worked the first time. :rolleyes:
     
  16. Mitch333 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #17
    Has anyone figured this out??? Having the same probs.
     
  17. sonderformat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #18
    same problem

    same problem here.

    MacBook Pro 2,8Ghz 10.5.8

    a) bootcamp partition is done (32GB).
    b) shows physically up in finder
    c) windows installer only shows one partition named C: with 128GB

    used windows version was taken several times in the past
    to install on bootcamp and it worked.

    no solution yet!?
     
  18. CTeditor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #19
    Possible solution

    Sounds like the exact problem I had but I have a solution

    If bootcamp does not boot at all from the windows disk then they are not bootable and can't be used at all.

    If you get to the partition section and only see 1 partition, e.g. (partition1 [unkown] 131000mb) then the disk does not contain SP2

    You don't format until later during Bootcamp, bootcamp initially does a quick format and then you do another one during installation.


    Solution: go to this link http://forums.macnn.com/109/alternative-os-reference/322430/really-xp-sp2-disc-how-tell/
    It will show you how to tell if you have an XP SP2 bootable disk

    Then you can try slipstreaming SP2 into a bootable XP disk, some links to instruction on slipstreaming are in this thread http://www.macworld.com.au/forums/index.php?showtopic=5491&st=20
    thats the thread I had going when I had the problem

    Hopefully this will sort everything out, report back once you've tried that
     
  19. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #20
    I am getting this problem currently on my '09 mac pro.

    I have tried a million things, most recently partitioning my intended bootcamp partition fresh, (150gigs on a 3tb with no other boot drive on it), removing all other hard drives, moving the bootcamp drive to bay 1, booting of an xp pro sp2 disk...

    ...BUT STILL! No "bootcamp" partition...

    ...only a partition that is around 700gb (not 3tb, or 2.3 tb..) which i am currently partitioning and reformatting using the xp disk... but i think even if this works it is unsatisfactory as i want this hd to be 150gb bootcamp/2.3 tb storage for my mac!

    what gives?

    any other solutions? things to try?

    thanks,

    mucho frustrated.

    r.
     

Share This Page