Windows XP on MAC with Snow Leopard using Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by teeshirt, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. teeshirt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    nowhere
    #1
    Hi,

    I need to install Windows on my Mac to run one program I will sometimes need for work. I have an copy (iso image) of Windows XP:

    ---Windows XP Professional SP3 Integrated January (2012) (32 - Bit) + SATA Drivers

    and I want to install it using BootCamp. I have a Mac with Snow Leopard, 4 GB RAM.

    I have three questions:

    1. Is this combination possibile? I hear that Bootcamp won't take Windows XP anymore. If so, will I need to get a copy of Windows 7?

    2. I need to burn the iso image to a DVD, using Disk Utility, right?
     
  2. madsobel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #2
    Hi.

    As long as you are running Snow Leopard on your machine it should not be a problem. Snow Leopard supports install of WinXP through BootCamp.

    Second i would recommend you to use Burn for burning a bootable ISO-image
     
  3. teeshirt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    nowhere
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    What if I upgrade to Lion later? Will I need to install windows again, or will it stay as it is?
     
  4. madsobel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I actually don't know. I asked sort of the same question earlier. But please let me know if you find an anwser :)
     
  5. madsobel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
  6. teeshirt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    nowhere
    #6
  7. Wang Foolio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #7
    I have an XP Boot Camp partition on my system. Upgraded from Snow Leopard to Lion on Saturday and it doesn't seem to have changed the XP partition in the slightest. Everything still works as before.
     
  8. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
    #8
    Have you considered VirtualBox (freeware virtual machine software)?
     
  9. Wang Foolio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #9
    That's a good point. Virtualization software (I use VMWare Fusion) can make switching back and forth much more seamless.

    If you're not doing something that requires a lot of horsepower to run (ie. gaming or 3D rendering) then using a VM with a portion of your system resources won't be a problem. I have an older copy of Adobe Creative Suite for Windows, and I often start up my virtual machine to run Photoshop. Doing this doesn't make it noticably slower than if I was in Boot Camp.
     
  10. teeshirt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    nowhere
    #10
    Thanks a lot for the tip. I would definitely consider open source software.

    I used to have a virtual machine using Parallels desktop on my previous Mac and it made it considerably slower when I ran it, the computer would get really hot and worst of all, the battery would drain very quickly.

    What is your experience with VirtualBox? I need Windows in order to run just one program, which I need for work, so it would be very helpful to have both OS's running at the same time. But if it would slow down the computer and drain the battery, I'd rather just use windows when I have to use that program.
     
  11. teeshirt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    nowhere
    #11
    I just installed VirtualBox and it works like magic. I installed Windows from the iso-image without burning it on dvd. Very quick install and it works very well for now.
     

Share This Page