Windows XP Only Sees One Partition

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by hingedshinobi, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. hingedshinobi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #1
    I've followed all the instructions, put my install cd in the drive and rebooted but when it comes to actually choosing where to install XP I only have the choice of one partition (C:\). I haven't gone ahead with the install incase I delete OSX.

    The partition is always the same size no matter what I change it to in Bootcamp Assistant but it isn't the whole disk.

    Anybody know whats going on?
     
  2. GuntherS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    Hmm, normally the size of C: would be the same like the size you picked in BootCamp Assistent.

    Have you tried to restore the disk as one volume so you can try again?
     
  3. hingedshinobi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #3
    Yeah I've tried it a few times, on this iMac and another one. XP sees the partition as the same size on both the iMacs though.

    I don't have another copy of XP to try either.

    EDIT: So is there only meant to be one partition as far as XP is aware?
     
  4. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    I had this happen to me too. Turned out I had a non-SP2 version of XP. Earlier versions can't handle Boot Camp. Or, Boot Camp can't handle earlier versions of XP. Whichever you prefer. Also, earlier versions of XP can't see volumes larger than 128 GB (131072 MB), so that's why it sees both volumes on both Macs as being the same size.

    So, in other words, DON'T go ahead and install XP, because you will lose your Mac OS X installation, and therefore all your documents too. I had this happen to me when I went ahead and did it anyway. Thank god for backups and external hard drives. That's why I thought it okay to try and see if it worked. Turned out it didn't, but because I backed everything up, I didn't lose anything.

    Go and look for a copy of Windows XP SP2, since only that version will work.
     
  5. LMO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    You can create an install CD by adding SP2 to your XP. Search for "slipstreaming" for details.
     
  6. eclipse525 macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #6
    Did you ever resolve this issue?

    I am having the same problem. The copy of XP I bought is SP2 and when I go ahead with the install it's only showing me one partition (C:). I know I should be seeing the Bootcamp partition.

    I did recently post this same question a couple of days ago. I thought this bootcamp install was suppose to go smoothly.



    ~e
    (20" iMac/2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/4GB DDR2 memory)
     

Share This Page