Windows XP or Vista won't install - No matter what!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by clairebennet, Oct 2, 2008.

1. clairebennet macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm new to macrumors:forums, but I've been a reader for a while now.

I'm trying to install Windows XP or Vista on my MBP using bootcamp.

I have tried the following and had no success:

1. Normal way (partition, install on partition after formatting to NTFS)
    -- Ends up with corrupted DLLs
    -- or "product catalog missing"
    -- or "write operation attempted to dismounted drive"

2. Try to run repair install (as in, install again, but using the repair feature
    -- same errors

3. Try Checkdisk /R
    -- Says it fixed some errors. Didn't make a difference
    -- Tried installing on the checkdisk-ed partition after formatting

4. Ruled out RAM by trying each slot, with each RAM stick and then installing

5. Wrote 0s to whole drive, tried to install, no dice.

6. 7-run write/erase disk using disk utility from OS X disk, no difference.

7. RAM Memory test, 5 loops, no errors.

8. Disk verified to work, using normal method on another mac.

9. Tried under 32GB partition, lets me reach a desktop. Crashes after restart after installing drivers from OS X disk.
    10. Vista installs properly on 75GB partition, does not boot again after OS X driver install.

11. Updated OS X to 10.5.5 before trying the above.

12. When recieving missing/corrupted *.dlls I managed to keep putting in the dlls it was missing from the internet, until it just stayed black and refused to boot.

Has anyone got any ideas at all? I'm really desperate and has spent the last 4 days up till 2am trying to get this to work.

2. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

Can you get a little more specific with that?

Have you tried holding down the option key when you turn your MBP on? That should bring up an OS loader window.

Select Vista.

If you've done that, what happens exactly. What error message, if any?