Windows XP Pro & Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by UltraNEO*, May 25, 2008.

  1. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #1
    Hiya guys,

    I know this topic has been covered countless times and by various users who'd like to install the regular English versions of Windows XP on their beloved Macs. However, this is different and I need a little help, possibly from a expert.

    So, what's the problem?
    Well, I wanna install Windows XP Pro (Japanese native version) on a MacBook Pro as a bootcamp partition. However the Windows installer is different in a way it doesn't see any of the other drive partitions and it doesn't report the drive specifications correctly.

    [​IMG]

    If I proceed from this point, I'll lose the OSX along with any other partitions that's on the drive (not shown)... And, once installed Windows refuses to boot! Perhaps it's because the 200Mb hidden boot partition (created by bootcamp) is missing??

    So... does anyone have a work around for this?

    [​IMG]

    FYI: I've already installing the US/UK version, then installing the optional Japanese language packs but my application won't install. On execution, I get errors regarding the Windows Language is incorrect. Sadly, it looks like it's gotta be a native Japanese version.

    I've also tried installing the OS via VMware and worked without a glitch, the USB drivers installed along with some of the other utilities, however my hardware won't mount and Lismo port halts - renders VMware alternative useless.

    Hmm.. doesn't anyone know a workaround? :rolleyes:
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Is the Japanese version of XP you have SP2 or the original release of XP? You can only install SP2 using Bootcamp.
     
  3. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Ah, finally.. Thank you. :)

    I believe it's the SP2 release.
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    You can also try and set your default input language to Japanese in the Regional and Language applet. This has helped me run some Japanese Windows games in English Windows.
     
  5. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Thanks Wallace, I've already tried that before unfortunately the application throw a fit, followed by an error then quit!! I'd guess some applications require and only support native Japanese version... er... like my keitai :rolleyes:
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    Did you use the bootcamp utility and then installed XP? I've installed simplified chinese windows xp professional sp2 using boot camp and I never seen something where the system doesn't read the partitions correctly.

    If you can, try and completely format the hard drive, reinstall OSX then partition using boot camp and install XP?
     
  7. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    I was using Bootcamp, and the english installation was fine!
    Other than non of my application would install.
     
  8. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    Update!!!

    Anyway, I solved the problem...

    Turns out the version I was trying install was had been Slipstreamed, spliced with SP2 and various other bits'n'bobs desinged for corporate installs. So, once installed it would come up as SP2 but the loader and installer was still Windows XP rev 1.

    I borrowed a different disk and preyed my key would work.. Thankfully it did and the screen should look like this...

    [​IMG]

    if you look closely, you'll know what i'm talking about when i tell you the other versions wasn't seeing the partitions.
     
  9. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #9
    What I have found with Bootcamp, is that if you have an installation, but want to delete and reinstall if you will, that it works best if you erase the Bootbcamp partition with Bootcamp, then run disk utility from the Mac OS Install Disc to repair the HD. Then recreate the Bootcamp partition using Bootcamp and install Windows again.

    Hope this helps.

    Edit from here down:

    Glad to hear.

    Yep, need the SP2 boot version for it to work.
     
  10. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #10
    Huh? :confused:

    Sorry..
    Just curious...
    did you did the whole thread, or just my last post?
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    Yes, I read the whole thread.

    That is why I gave you the steps that work.

    What didn't you understand about my post? Curious.

    BTW, I've installed Windows XP (English version) and Vista via Bootcamp more than a few times. I try to find steps that work all the time rather than solutions that sometimes work.
     
  12. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #12
    I don't mean to sound ungrateful but your solution doesn't solve my problems but I'm sure it'll help someone else though. :D

    I could erase and re-create the bootcamp partition (as you suggested) a million times and this problem would still arise, please refer to the screen captures for more info, it'll explain everything.
     
  13. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #13
    Your original post indicated that the Windows CD was not recognizing your partitions, so you could not install Windows XP Japanese.

    Because this issue can crop up when installing and re-installing Windows, I provided the solution of using Bootcamp to delete the partition and then recreate the partition. This issue can be solved most times by doing this procedure. That is why I mentioned it.

    Please note that at the time of my post, you had not figured out the problem. I assumed (and I know that is dangerous) that you had a correct Windows XP w/SP2 install disc. Which in this case, it turned out you didn't. By the time I replied, you had already posted your solution. That is why I added the Edit part.

    Why do folks slipstream Windows? By slipstreaming the Windows install disc they can save installing Windows and then doing the huge update to SP2. With a Windows XP install disk with SP2 this is one much quicker step. And now with SP3, many will slipstream to save the update (although smaller than SP2) to SP3.

    For me, I install Windows on Bootcamp or with Parallels/VMware. Then tweak it to my standard setup. Then I back up. When I need a fresh copy of Windows, I just restore to my standard setup. This saves a whole lot of time and is great for imaging. :)

    I hope this all makes sense.
     
  14. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #14
    Thanks.
    No, seriously. :)
     
  15. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #15
    Well, at least you got your Japanese Windows XP running. :)
     

Share This Page