Windows XP SP3 and Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by steveza, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Just a friendly note from the good folk over at Microsoft. If you are installing a release candidate of XP SP3 in boot camp you may receive an "out of disk space" error message. See below for details and fix.

    I assume that since the article is directed at the release candidate, this will be fixed in the final release. Nice of them to get involved in the boot camp movement :)
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I'd like to see what percentage of people buying XP disks (as opposed to having it pre-installed) are on Macs. Surely its quite a lot, as the only other groups I can think of are people who build their own PCs and 'downgraders'.
     
  3. BrownPlopz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Behind you, I'm your shadow...
    #3
    Well, I, for one, am going to purchase an XP disk for Boot Camp purposes in a few weeks time, accompanying my new iMac, which I'm partially reluctant in buying currently, due to the update speculation (gee, who knew that knowing too much can suck?? :p).
     
  4. steveza thread starter macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Ignorance is bliss, apparently :)
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    thanks for the heads up, even though hopefully this issue will be fixed in the final release
     
  6. steveza thread starter macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You never know - those crazy kids at MS might just leave it out for a joke.

    Seriously though I'm sure that Microsoft has never refered to Apple machines in a release candiate before (I could be wrong but I've been doing this for a while and I've never seen it) which shows that "Windows on the Mac" is probably starting to become a revenue stream for them.
     
  7. zephead macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #7
    Hmm. I managed to get SP1 on my MacBook through an old install CD I have, and when I was trying to upgrade to SP2, it gave me that same error message... It said I needed greater than 4MB of space for the uninstaller when I had 17GB free, so the installer refused to continue.

    However, I somehow managed to get SP2 on here by installing it through VMware Fusion. I just picked the Boot Camp partition as the Windows disk, and for some weird reason, SP2 installed just fine through there. I restarted and booted back into XP, and everything's fine to this day. :confused:
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Vista is so much better though...I mean unless you're running 5 year old applications. But even then...
     
  9. KickNazer macrumors newbie

    KickNazer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    Automatic BootDir Batch File

    Here is a batch File I made to modify your registry automatically.

    http://www.filefront.com/14430491/Windows-XP-SP3-Install-Registry-MOD-for-Bootcamp.bat/

    Just enter you system drive letter when it prompts for it after double clicking on the file. I'm sure lots of people with knowledge of batch files and DOS on these forums who can verify it to work and be 100% safe and working. All you have to do is right click>Edit to check out its code.

    Hope this makes it very easy for everybody, Thanks!
     
  10. pepeleuepe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #10
    Just a note for those running into the same error with XP SP 2. I had this same problem described by zephead and this registry change made the installation work for me. Thanks for the help, not sure how I stumbled on this thread but its the thing that finally worked for me.

    - Dave
     

Share This Page