Windows XP SP3 on Mac not installing

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by smiths37, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. smiths37 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #1
    I just slipstreamed service pack 3 into my windows XP install and burned an ISO with nLite. When I go into Boot Camp and insert my CD, boot camp tells me that the installer disk could not be found.
    The only thing that I can think of is that I should have just made a CD with SP2. But, that's just a guess. Anyone have any ideas, or has anyone made a CD with SP3 and successfully installed on Mac?
     
  2. kid rock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea, Essex, England
    #2
    dont know about anybody else but XP SP3 will not install onto XP on my macbook.

    at first i thought it was that i didnt have enoutgh hdd space, so i put in my new and bigger hdd, load osx, run boot camp etc etc install XP with SP2 and then have tried a install from the download file and from windows update......

    both have a hissy fit and complain that i need at least 4mb more space.........i have 25GB free on the xp partition.......... wtf is going on

    anybody else have an issue?

    Si
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    Nope but here's the fix
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Did you enable the "Make CD Bootable" option in n-Lite?
     
  5. smiths37 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #5
    Oh man, it's a definite possibility that I didn't. nLite kept failing on me - I'm sure I missed an option like that by the third try. Guess I'll go make another one and make sure to hit that option!
     
  6. bigbillpns macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    #6
    Thsi fix worked for me . . .

    I have a 2 GHz MacBook Pro running 10.4.11.
    I only have the last Tiger version of BootCamp.

    I tried to upgrade my XP SP2 partition to SP3 and got the not enough disk space error that you got. Struggled with it for a couple of days, finally gave it up cause I don't use XP at all, really - but I do keep it up with all of the upgrades, virus protection, security upgrades, etc.

    Any, that was a few months ago and today I started looking on the web to see if any solutions showed up. I Googled "xp sp3 on Tiger" and got to a link on this Forum started by Dmac77 on 30 May 2008 (XP SP3 Won't Install), with the solution coming from Moof1904 the same day.

    He provided this link:

    http://www.windowsreference.com/general/error-there-is-not-enough-disk-space-when-installing-sp3/



    **************************
    You may experience the following error when installing Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) when installing on Intel iMAC using Bootcamp to run Windows XP.
    There is not enough disk space on C:\WINDOWS\$NtServicePackUninstall$ to install Service Pack 3 Setup requires an additional 4 megabytes of free space or if you also want to archive the files for uninstallation,Setup requires 4 additional megabytes of free space. Free additional space on your hard disk and then try again.

    This happens because iMac uses EFI file format which Windows XP does not support. To workaround this problem, add a registry key as follows:
    1. Click Start - Run - Type “regedit” and press enter.

    2. Navigate to

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup]

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    \Software
    \Microsoft
    \Windows
    \CurrentVersion
    \Setup

    3. In the right pane, Right-click and select New - String value

    4. Name it as “BootDir” and set its value to “C:\”

    This should help. Try installing SP3 and should work fine.
    **************************

    It worked for me. XP SP3 upgrade with Tiger (freebie) version of BootCamp
     
  7. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    You should have looked at the link i posted #3,would have saved you all this typing ;)
     
  8. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    As an aside, I have noticed that XP SP3 prevents my Boot Camp partition from re-starting after an install (whether or not I have run the BCA 2.1 prior), though it loads fine in Parallels (from the BC partition). :confused:

    So for now I am staying with SP2.
     
  9. bigbillpns macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    #9
    Neil321 I'm sorry I missed it . . .

    . . . though it was mostly cut and paste with CopyPaste - though I had to edit because it did not copy the link well the first time.

    CWallace, the failure noted of SP3 partition restart after install - is that any kind of install that requires restart, like updates, even?

    I think I have done several software updates since I did SP3 and did not have a problem.

    Bill in Pensacola
     
  10. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #10
    No need to apologise,just thought id point it out thats all,also ive the same question as you to CWallace,i personally didn't get this error when i installed sp3,once id installed bootcamp 2.1 i downloaded sp3 rebooted and everything was fine
     
  11. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    Neil321
    What's the big advantage of SP3? I have XP Pro and am on the fence with regard to SP3.
    Sorry for the hijack. :eek:
     
  12. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    On my MacBook Pro, booting from the Boot Camp partition is happy with SP2 and any and all updates.

    If I apply the Boot Camp 2.1 update while still at SP2, I can continue to boot from the Boot Camp partition with no problems. When I then apply SP3, either via Windows Update or by using the executable you can download from Microsoft's site, I need to reboot after the installation is completed. At that point, I get the "Windows XP" splash screen and it just sits there (with the animated bar below moving) until I grow tired and power off the machine. I've let it sit for 30 minutes-plus, and it never gets past that splash screen.

    I use the Option key to boot back into OS X. I launch Parallels, which uses my Boot Camp partition. Windows boots normally within the VM and I am at Service Pack 3.

    I attempted to apply SP3 without first applying the Boot Camp 2.1 update. Same issue - it will never pass the splash screen when booting directly from the Boot Camp partition, but works fine when booting from Parallels and is SP3.

    I have also applied SP3 from within the Parallels VM after applying the Boot Camp 2.1 update within the VM. Again, it boots fine from the VM and is SP3, but hangs indefinitely when booting directly from the Boot Camp partition.

    I use Windows so irregularly that I am content to stick with SP2.
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    Not much as far as i can tell i think it's just a bundle of all the previous updates & and a couple thrown in for ha ha's
     
  14. LawrenZza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #14
    trouble installing window xp sv3 on macbook

    i'm having the same problem too.
    i just bought a window xp service pack 3 cd and tried to install it on my macbook with boot camp.

    but it stuck at the window installation screens which is still running stating there's 39 mins left, but after waiting for more than an hour i quit it. it seems to be stuck.

    can anyone help me pls. i dun get how can i install the boot camp driver 2.1 1st before installing my window. because it's a .exe file

    pls help me
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    For fresh bootcamp XP setups on customers Macs I follow Apples instructions to the letter else there's always problems. Use a standard SP2 CD, run bootcamp, reboot, Bootcamp update, then IE7 followed by an additional restart then apply the SP3 full file update which reboots again. Then connect to the net, activate if necessary and download all the security updates then IE8.

    It's only on the imac I've ever had to patch the registry with that fix.
     

Share This Page