Windows XP SP3 refuses to install!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Inconsequential, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Pulling my hair out about this as this worked before and now it doesn't!!!!

    I either a hal.dll or ntoskrnl.exe error.

    This was working perfectly on one 500G HD which OS X does not reside on (OS X is on a 80Gb SSD).

    1. 150Gb Windows 7 x64
    2. 80Gb Windows XP x32
    3. HFS formatted for storage of OS X things.

    Now whichever way I install or partition it XP refuses to install after the first reboot (after it's copied files over).

    Now i've spent TWO days on this now and still no closer to fixing it.

    Windows 7 boots and works fine, XP refuses to install even if it's the only thing on the disk!!

    Any help would be great.

    Cheers.
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    Hahahahaha! I'm sorry, I'll help, honest.

    Sir, format the Windows partition to NTFS using the blue-screen Windows installation that it boots to when you boot from the disc. ^.^

    Just choose the partition and quick-format to NTFS. Done.
     
  3. Inconsequential thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #3
    Done that (Quick and full), i've formatted it in Windows 7 (quick and full) and im still not getting anywhere...

    This is NOT using the bootcamp assistant :)
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    XP is the one that doesn't get EFI so it is odd to put it in the middle partition. I'd try installing XP with only OS X and then introduce W7.

    B
     
  5. Inconsequential thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #5
    Why? This setup has worked perfectly for the last 4 months!!!

    Besides OS X is not on the same HD so it is irrelevant...

    Im going to try Windows XP on a blank HD and see if that works :(
     
  6. Baby Mac macrumors regular

    Baby Mac

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    That's a really good idea. Then you can restore it to the XP partition on the drive you want to use. But you told us earlier:
     
  7. Inconsequential thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    Fixed it :D

    Wiped the HD again as one OS X partition, then set three partitions again.

    Installed Windows 7, installed XP but while installing XP delete the 200Mb partition visible on the same HD, then install XP.

    Fix Windows 7 boot using the DVD, Using easybcd add XP to the W7 bootloader and everyone is happy!!!

    YAY!
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    That's partially why I suggested doing XP first. I doubt 7 would have created a 200 MB EFI partition (i.e. used GPT) if your HDD was already partitioned MBR to begin with.

    Since you're not booting to OS X on this HDD it doesn't have to be GPT.

    B
     

Share This Page