Windows XP - Transfer from one MP to the Other

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Catch Them, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. Catch Them macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    Hello - I currently have one 2.66 MP from 2007 that i purchased for myself and a few months ago i got a 2.8 specifically for at work and since now i own both and dont need one or the other on the job, id kind o fhate to waste all this great power.

    at any rate...the 2.66 has my Windows XP Pro installation on it...i was wondering is it at all illegal, or difficult to (IF i do sell the 2.66 macpro) pull that drive and slap it into the 2.8 MacPro?

    im going to make a bootable clone with WinClone before i do this.

    so are there any best ways or methods of going about this?



    thank you in advanced!
     
  2. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    You'd think it would be easy. I did the exact same thing when transferring my XP partition from my old Macbook Pro into my new Macbook. However, none of the drivers work in XP, and I can't get anything work (wireless, bluetooth, audio, etc.).

    Not happy as of right now
     
  3. Catch Them thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #3
    well i think it might be a tad different between a MBP and MB compared to a MacPro to a MacPro.


    with the MBP to MB, i think its probably that removing the old drivers and doing a reinstall of the bootcamp 2.1 drivers


    im going to try this in a few weeks when i get back home from vacation.
    but from what i understand ... it should work fine should just uninstall the drivers then einstall them after the i put thew cloned drive in and just do the reactivision.
     
  4. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    yeh uninstall the drivers and then reinstall the new drivers you get with your new Mac Pro.

    also you can restore a Windows NTFS partition with Disk Utility its just you need to have a ready available clean NTFS formatted partition which you can do natively with Disk Utility.
     

Share This Page