Windows XP WEP Wireless problem.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nburo, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. nburo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #1
    Hello mac using friends.

    I use a Macbook Pro (it's about 3 months old) and I installed Windows XP SP2 via Bootcamp on it. When I plug my Ethernet cable in the laptop, I can surf on the internet (either when using Windows or the Mac). I bought a Linksys Wireless Router. I installed everything using a WEP encryption key (26 digits long). I can connect to the wireless router when I'm in my MAC partition. The problem is when I try it using my Windows partition. It says I'm connected, but I cannot access the Internet :( . When my roomates (who have PCs with XP or Vista) try to connect, it works very well.

    What now?

    (sorry for my bad english ^^, I normally speak french)
     
  2. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Have you tried a different format, like WPA? It is more secure and the password requirements are a bit easier.
     
  3. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #3
    I have had similar issues, it seems to happen to me when I reboot immediately from OS-X to Windows. The way I have gotten around this is to reboot the router, though this is a pain and not the preferred method-It almost sounds like the router is set up for network filtering, though if it were, you would not be on the internet when in OS-X.

    You may want to verify that MAC filtering is set for off on the router, or, more securely, turn it on and add the MAC address of your wireless and wired Ethernet connections from the MBP.
     
  4. nburo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #4
    thks for your help guys, but it didnt work. Still, i switched to WPA for more security. As for the MAC filtering, it didnt change anything. :S

    What now?
     
  5. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #5
    Did you try to power cycle the router?
     
  6. nburo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #6
    could you explain me what is 'power cycle'? and how to do it please?

    sorry, im not pro :)
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Wireless connectivity is a windows problem. Same on any windows laptop:

    1. Try to "repair" connnection
    2. Restart windows.

    Why would you surf the web in windows? Bad idea.
    Only use OSX to surf is possible.

    You should use WPA as security.
     
  8. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    Unplug both your router and the "broadband modem"-which really isn't a modem :)

    And then plug in the broadband modem first, and let it power up fully-then plug in the router and let it power fully-Sometimes windows wants all new IP addresses? Not sure why-when I was a Windows only person this wasn't a problem-but is sometimes for me when I switch from Mac to Windows-and it really should not be, as the router is obviously not OS specific.
     
  9. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    ive had this problem with pc's. i havent used bootcamp, (i prefer paralells) but on my pc's that have this problem, i installed a program called network magic. i tells you if your really connected. i dont exactly know how to explain how it works, but it has helped me quite a bit.
     
  10. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #10
    That sounds interesting-where did you get Network majic?
     
  11. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #11
    www.networkmagic.com of course! lol:D

    it came with my router actually.
    i have a d-link router and the two companies seem to have some sort of partnership or something
     
  12. nburo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #12
    I already said that I've switched to WPA. I won't go back to WEP. Also, I want to play some multiplayer games that only works on windows... that's why I need internet on my windows.

    thks, I'll try that as soon as I get home :)

    I may try this too :) thks
     
  13. nburo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #13
    sorry to say, but none of the three methods worked :(

    an other idea?
     
  14. david.landau1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #14
    Internet connection with Windows on your MAC

    Bonjour nburo:

    Did you ever fix the problem of connecting? I just set up Windows on my MAC using Bootcamp and I am having the same problem of connecting. I can not get an IP address?

    Thanks,

    David



     
  15. nburo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #15
    Unfortunately :(

    This is getting very annoying....

    Have you at least tried what the other guys told me to do?
     

Share This Page