WindowServer - Lots of RAM

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jays94, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. jays94 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    Since upgrading to Yosemite one thing i'm noticing is the longer I leave my mac before restarting the more ram it is using.

    After a day or two of it being on the available ram is around 17mb-26mb (with just mail, finder and safari open).

    I've not noticed it feeling that slow, but have noticed about of UI lag.

    The main culprit it looks like is WindowServer. When first starting the computer it uses a normal usage, after a day it was around 6gb and now it is up to 8.9gb used memory.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    What does the memory pressure graph in Activity Monitor look like?
     
  3. jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #3
    Picture was just uploading, its on now the original post now.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    WindowServer is using a larger amount than I would think it should. What machine are you using?
     
  5. jays94, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2014

    jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #5
    Macbook Pro (Retina) Late 2012 - 8GB RAM + SSD

    It keeps increasing. I've noticed it several times over a few days the longer i leave the mac on. I get more and more UI Lag and i've read about another person with a similar problem.

    I have had it freeze a few times and I think its because of this and if i leave this computer on for another day or two I could definitely see it freezing (will see what happens)

    Up to around 9.41GB now.

    Thanks!
     
  6. jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #6
    Just to update.

    My macbook is feeling very sluggish now, lots and lots of UI lag and the WindowServer has gone up to about 13GB of usage.

    [​IMG]

    Memory pressure is a lot higher and orange/amber now too.
     
  7. mickeydean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #7
    I am having the same issue on my late 2013 15" 2.6Ghz/1TB/16GB/750M.

    I tried 1. permissions fix in safe mode 2. SMC reset 3. PRAM reset. but it hasn't solved it.
     
  8. ChrisDB macrumors member

    ChrisDB

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Bucharest Romania
    #8
    I'm having the same problem on Retina macbook pro late 2012 13inch 8 gb of ram and ssd .

    UI is very laggy , switched to Mavericks , problem solved but still very laggy , i think is because of the retina screen .
     
  9. jays94, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014

    jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #9
    It's ridiculous, just hope it is a bug and that they will fix it.

    So irritating to have to restart every day.

    Nearly 15GB's now..

    Make that nearly 17GB's..
     
  10. jays94, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014

    jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #11
    Thanks! I've seen this, but shortly after upgrading to Yosemite I did a PRAM and SMC reset (about a month ago) so Im not sure if this would help.

    I suppose it couldn't hurt?

    Done! I'll see what happens now, really not expecting much though..

    What would be helpful would be to know what a macbook pro retina window server memory usage normally is after a day or two.
     
  11. jays94, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014

    jays94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #12
    After fixing permissions, resetting PRAM & SMC nothing has changed at all.

    After 1 and 1/2 days of being on the WindowServer went from using around 150-200mb to shooting up to 3.81GB and this will continue to rise now until the machine slows right up in a day or two.

    Really not sure they are going to fix this issue.

    Memory Pressure (After 2 days) with just core apps running..

    [​IMG]
     
  12. jiehanzheng macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
  13. cool_j macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    #14
    This seems to be a bug with scaled screen resolution (specially with 4K monitors) in MacOS High Seirra (and perhaps in older versions of the OS as well). Using "Default for display" screen resolution seems to fix the issue (Not my ideal resolution, but a temporary fix until an MacOS update with a fix is available). More information here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/windowserver-memory-leak-on-high-sierra.233510/
     

Share This Page