Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

robd003

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
Has anyone else had issue with WindowServer memory usage growing to insane amounts on Ventura? I use a 2nd monitor (without any custom color profiles) and after 8 hours WindowServer will be consuming 33gb of RAM.

I've been upgrading to Ventura each point release only to downgrade back to Monterey where the issue does not occur.

• Wow
Reactions: Wizec

pshufd

macrumors G3
Oct 24, 2013
New Hampshire
I've been using Ventura since 2022 and haven't had any WindowServer leak issues. I had some small leaks with the first version of Ventura but things are fine now. My Macs are typically up for about 6 weeks before rebooting.

robd003

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
I've been using Ventura since 2022 and haven't had any WindowServer leak issues. I had some small leaks with the first version of Ventura but things are fine now. My Macs are typically up for about 6 weeks before rebooting.
Do you use an external monitor?

pshufd

macrumors G3
Oct 24, 2013
New Hampshire
Do you use an external monitor?

I have a Mac Studio hooked up to 4 Dell Ultrasharp monitors. 3 are 4k and 1 is 2k.

I also have a 2021 MacBook Pro 16 which I don't hook up to external monitors.

I have an M1 mini which I haven't used since getting the Studio and I had it hooked up to the same 4 monitors though using a DisplayLink device. I did see the WindowServer issues in Monterey. They were really bad in 2021 and early 2022 but they were solved for me around summer 2022. I saw some memory leaks when Ventura came out but they're mostly gone now.

robd003

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
I have a Mac Studio hooked up to 4 Dell Ultrasharp monitors. 3 are 4k and 1 is 2k.

I also have a 2021 MacBook Pro 16 which I don't hook up to external monitors.