WinOnX Compatibility

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Ryanwynn, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. Ryanwynn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    Does the windows program "VISUAL C# 2010 EXPRESS" work on WinOnX. If not, is there a good way to run the program on a mac (w/ snow leopard)? I have had trouble with Parallels and VMware and I hope that there is a good way to run the program without a virtual machine.
     
  2. PC Chopath macrumors member

    PC Chopath

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Neverland
    #2
    You can use Wineskin by Doh123
    this porter better than WinOnX
     
  3. Ryanwynn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #3
    I cant do it

    I don't know how to use wineskin.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
  5. Ryanwynn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #5
    I only have windows xp in vmware 4 and it requires Service Pack 3 for the application to work. I was pretty sure that you cant download a Service Pack on the virtual machine but I tried anyway and it gave me a weird blue screen and crashed vmware.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Worst case scenario. Slipstream SP3 into your original XP installer and create a new VM.

    B
     
  7. Ryanwynn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #7
    I'm sorry but I don't know what slipstream means or how to do that. Could you please explain?
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
  9. Ryanwynn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #9
  10. Ryanwynn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #10
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Why? That's why you use the existing VM (or the non-SP3 XP to create one) to have a Windows box to work in.

    A long long time ago I did actually get the whole process working under Wine, using mkisofs and dd, but it really isn't worth it. That was before the VM solutions were well established.

    B
     

Share This Page