Winterboard 2.0

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by iStewbert, Aug 2, 2008.

1. iStewbert macrumors newbie

Alright, first and for most, I am a noob. I installed winterboard this morning...mostly because I saw it's supposed to do what summerboard does, delete the stock background on the ipod touch, and allow new backgrounds to show. I did this, and now i'm stuck w/ the ugly stock plant background. After going into customize and trying to install a new theme, it'll change the icons, but not the background. Have I done something wrong? How can I get this new, ugly (no offense to the creator) background gone?

also, i've tried to SSH, I got past the part where you type alpine in...and now it asks me for a root# every time in the terminal...what the hell is a root#. I am pretty sure I screwed the pooch somehow attempting to ssh.

Anyway, any and all help would be appreciate. My experience with this stuff is very small, as I am just beginning to learn! Thanks!

UPDATE: I figured out how to remove winterboard 2.0. I'd rather know how to use it, but hopefully y'all can shine some answers on me! thanks

2. itzdemo macrumors regular

itzdemo

if you read the "more info" in the installer it says it only works for summerboard themes. and don't have anything to do with customize. im going to wait till freeboard or summerboard comes out becuse they work together !

3. iStewbert thread starter macrumors newbie

Alright, got it figured out. Wasn't so bad... :) I still can't figure out how to SSH? Anybody up for a tutorial? I've read the one in Cydia, but after I get into my terminal, it's asking for a root#...from there, I can't get it to work.

4. therealmrbob macrumors regular

therealmrbob

I use cyberduck. takes the guess work out of ssh heh. open it up then click the bookmark icon in the the top left then click bonjour and you should see your ipod name, then double click it and type in "root" for the user name and "alpine" for the pass. and you're set.