Wiping memory of MacBook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by LottieLulu, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. LottieLulu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #1
    I have lent my old Macbook Air to my friend who will be giving it back to me shortly. He was desperate for a computer and I had just bought a new Macbook Air (the old one had a few issues with it but he seemed perfectly happy with it). However I don't want to have his old data on the computer as I have no interest in his personal details. So is it either a) possible to go to a 'return to factory settings' option or b) can I use the Time Machine to just return the contents of the MacBook Air to what it originally was; when I got my new one this is what I did - simply copied the old MacBook Air to the new one, but will this mean I won't be able to see anything he's downloaded onto his machine?

    I'm not expecting there to be anything dodgy on there but I would rather respect his privacy!
     
  2. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    Just restore it to factory condition. It will erase everything and reinstall the OS.
     
  3. LottieLulu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    #3
    Brilliant, thank you, I've just goggled that and worked out how to do it. Wish I had known that when I gave it to him, I ended up deleting all my own stuff by hand.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Just so I am clear, you have a Time Machine backup with all your data like you want and want to put that back on the Air? Just option key boot to the TM disk and use Disk Util to erase the internal drive to Mac OS Extended then quit Disk Util and click restore. That will wipe whatever your friend had on there and put all your stuff back form the backup.
     
  5. jimboutilier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #5
    A wipe, reinstall of OS, and restore from time machine is very effective but time consuming and should leave your machine in the exact state it was in during your last time machine backup.

    Too late for this time but if lending it to a friend I would just create a new standard (or even admin if really trusted) account on the machine for my friend to use and once it was returned I'd just delete that account.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    You don't really need to reinstall the OS if you restore with TM. The restore will put the OS back as part of the restore.
     

Share This Page