Wiping volume data to prevent future accidental...MBP 2009

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by whoknows87, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. whoknows87 macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #1
    Anyone know the cause of this error message this is a brand new HD I'm trying to format , but cant see to do anything, I did some googling and it seems like it might be a Hard Drive Cable issue? anyone had this problem before?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    How (Disk Utility?) do you want to format what HDD (internal or external?) and is the error message your thread title?

     
  3. whoknows87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #3
    yup via disk utility, I booted up from Lion ( external) opened up disk utility got that error message and actually another one at times something along the lines of can not write of the device last block, I tool it to apple a week ago and they said its a HD issue, I purchased my own , but now cant format it, could it be a Hard Drive Cable issue? and will Apple fix that without insisting on buying a HD from them? or refuse to touch my MBP because it has a non apple HD
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    You're still having trouble with this thing? I'd say try a HD cable next. You've tried 3 different HDDs now, right?
     
  5. whoknows87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #5
    I ordered the new HD from OWC at least it showed up on disk utility but no format, so everything points towards a hard drive cable , I took it to the apple store met with Genius Bar explained everything and I told him i think its the hard drive cable and asked him to double check that for, he said sure took it to the back diganosed it and he confirmed that it's the HD Cable, its going to cost 60 bucks to fix,I'm relieved lol this thing dragged and dragged , now I'm wondering if my original HD is fine, I guess ill find out when I get the MBP tomorrow hopefully if my old HD works then great ill just sell or return the new one purchased, its possible that the HD and the HD Cable went bad at the same time

    one thing I've figured out now is that not every HD is compatible with this Macbook Pro model then because the other 2 i purchased were not even recognized , but the one from OWC did so it must be a compatibility issues also
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Normally every 2.5" S-ATA HDD is compatible with MacBooks and MacBook Pros, only the different height limits (9.5 mm or 12.5 mm) are a factor.
    Maybe they were just bad HDDs or it had to do with that HDD cable thing you getting repaired.
     
  7. whoknows87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    whoknows87

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    S.Florida
    #7
    That's what I thought , but what are the odds of having 2 HD and 1 SSD not work? probably slim to none, they are all the same size, something is definitely not compatible the only one that worked was the one purchased from OWC for that specific model, I read somewhere that the 2009 model did have some issues with some HD compatibility
     

Share This Page