Wired internet access?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Richard8655, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. Richard8655 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    I know, this should be obvious. But I wanted to verify that the iPad is not capable of a hard wired connection to the internet (i.e., to a modem), only WiFi or 3G. Is that correct?
     
  2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Only wifi or 3G. There is no cat cable to 30 pin connector wire or capability of the device to utilize the cable if it did exist.
     
  3. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Give it some time and I am sure that an Ethernet to 30 Pin cable will be made.
     
  4. AR15MBP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    This could be the solution you're looking for. It's small and takes advantage of a Ethernet connection. http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/
     
  5. Richard8655 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    Thanks all. And AR15MBP, that's an excellent suggestion for an inexpensive solution to the lack of wired connectivity.
     
  6. antster94 macrumors 6502a

    antster94

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    But don't you need a Mac/PC to set up the network?
     
  7. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #8
    Yes.
     
  8. poloponies macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
    The OP didn't say he didn't have a computer, he was asking about how to deal with lack of wireless. (By posting in the first place one would have to assume he had access to a computer).
     
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Apple would have to provide an API for that to work. Just because someone make the hardware does not mean that the software will support it.
     
  10. sandyjmacdonald macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #11
    Only the first time.
     
  11. u49aa2 macrumors 6502a

    u49aa2

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Between Heaven and Hell
    #12
    You only need to set it up once. I did this back home and now I am using it at my hotel room with my iPad, no PC needed.
     
  12. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    An airport utility app for iPhone and iPad sure would be a nice bit of software to have.
     

Share This Page