Wireless Broadband, Time Capsule and USB Modem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thepanman, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. thepanman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have recently moved house and no longer have access to a DSL / ADSL line but have successfully plugged a wireless USB modem (ZTE MF688+) into my desktop PC.

    I have a mac book pro and a time capsule which were previously networked but I don't know how to access the internet as there is no DSL cable to plug into the time capsule.

    Is there any way to use the Time Capsule to access the internet without plugging a DSL / ADSL cable in ?

    Cheers.
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Could you share the internet connection from the 3G dongle with ethernet, plug the ethernet into the Time Capsule and set it up that way?
     
  3. thepanman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for replying.

    What I really want to do is to be able to connect the wireless dongle into the Time Capsule and then network my pc and mac with the time capsule.

    I can't find anything on the net to say that you can do this.

    Can I ? (with out messing the time capsule up ?)

    The dongle model is ZTE MF688+
     
  4. thepanman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I don't know if it's going to work. I would just try it, it's not going to break anything. IMO I don't think it's going to work, but it's worth a shot.
     
  6. thepanman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #6
    cheers. Didn't work. Looks like I'll have to connect the time capsule up to the PC via Ethernet.

    Any pointers ?
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Just attach the TC to your PC and run through the settings. Thinking about Im not sure if you would be able to broadcast the wireless dongle via the TC, something in the back of my mind is nagging me about it. I think when you attach via ethernet in bridge mode, the wireless is disabled. Have a play and see if you can get it working. If you need help with setting up internet sharing etc just post back and I should be able to help.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    to be honest, it wont work connecting direct into the TC - the USB is only for printers/HDDs etc - sorry :(

    the only other way to do it is to share the connection like stride said :(
     
  9. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #9
    what if i plugged the USB modem into one of the USB ports of my Mac Mini then connected my Time Capsule to the Mac Mini wirelessly,would that work for the Time Capsule to produce a wifi connection in my apartment? sorry for the noob question! :eek:
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    that might work.

    plug it in, make sure you have Internet on the Mac Mini, then do this
    system prefs->sharing->internet sharing. you will want to share to devices "using airport". it would be better if you shared to devices "using ethernet" and plugged the TC in directly IMO.
     
  11. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #11
    you mean plug the TC directly to the Mac mini?
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    yes via ethernet
     
  13. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    did you plug the ethernet cable into the WAN port of the TC?
     
  15. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #15
    i dont have a TC yet and i dont think it will work..
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    i could possibly test?
     
  17. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #17
    you are too kind,yes if you can please :)
     
  18. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    sure thing, its a busy week for me. i will test it when i can :D
     
  19. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #19
    did you try this Mr.? does anyone think this will work?
     
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    sorry :( i have yet to test it. i will give it a go in about *looks at watch* 6hrs! :)
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    well that plan backfired. i completely forgot

    *coming soon, to a thread near you!* :D
     
  22. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    ok as an update, i have FINALLY tested this. unfortunately it did not work for me. here is what i did.

    .
    unfortunately, it doesnt look at though this will work.

    setup was as follows.

    mobile phone sharing internet to MBP (via wifi) using my phones tethering ability. the MBP was then connected via Ethernet to the WAN port of the TC using System Prefs->File Sharing->Internet Sharing. i then connected my imac via wireless to the TC.

    theoretically the imac should have gotten an internet connection - but unfortunately it did not. what is funny to mention is that the TCs internet light was "green", meaning it can connect to the internet.

    i believe that with further testing and mucking around that this setup PROBABLY could work.

    i hope this was worth the wait
     

Share This Page