Wireless card in new Mac Pro (2008)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nigels0, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. nigels0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #1
    Well I rushed off and bought the mac pro as soon as it was announced at the local Mac store to where I was - and also bought the internal wireless card.

    They didn't fit it at the store, but as I was shipping it anyhow to the UK, I didn't care much.

    When home, I installed the card - just two screws, and thought everything was fine - Leopard found it and the function is available - but I'm getting no signal from it. It looks very much like I have no antenna attached, though there was no antenna needed when installing (I assumed the antenna worked through the two screws holding the card in place).

    Anyone got any ideas what the problem is (apart from dragging it to a Apple store).

    Thanks
     
  2. Tbarr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #2
    See;
    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=6974880#6974880
    and
    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=6947908#6947908

    Note, since that last post, I've gone down another step on the Linksys firmware due to problems with streaming media on my MacPro. I'm using the Linksys with firmware befw11s4v4-fw-15010. That seems to have fixed the problem with streaming media. I will probably keep what I have until the 802'N' standard is finalized and then get a new 'N' wireless router and hope it works with everything. Hopefully, I won't have to play musical firmware anymore :rolleyes:
     
  3. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #3

    Attached Files:

  4. nigels0 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #4
    ~Worked a treat!

    Thanks guys - the tutorial really helped too.
     
  5. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  6. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6
    Hey Nigel, so your saying this card: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-Airport-Extreme-Wireless-Upgrade/dp/B0012YYITW

    works in the new mac pros?? If so I think I will order one from the US as they dont seem to have any in the UK

    I have managed to find the MB363ZM/A in the UK but not the MB363Z/A would this work? whats the difference with it?

    EDIT: From a little looking around seems it does http://www.morecomputers.co.uk/extra.asp?pn=MB363ZM/A This a nd few more websites state.

    System Requirements: 8-core or quad-core Mac Pro (January 2008)
     
  7. nigels0 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #7
    The Amazon picture looks exactly like the one I have - there isn't any picture on the other site - but yes, get the right card and it can be installed relatively easily (specially if you follow krye's tutorial).
     

Share This Page