Wireless client airport extreme and express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by minggusb2205, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. minggusb2205 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #1
    Hi, I got Airport extreme as the main router and AXP as repeater. I want to know why my Macbook, IPAD etc is sometimes connected under Airport extreme instead of AXP even though the position is much closer to AXP. I want my devices to be connected to Express in that particular position as the dbm is smaller to show better connection.

    How to change move wireless client from extreme to express manually? Anybody can help? Thank you.
     
  2. smellalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #2
    Set the same SSID on both APs. Set the exact same security level on both APs, eg "WPA/WPA2" or only WPA2.

    More info there:
    http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-custom/thread.cgi?25413
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1208584

    Please report back if it works as I'm going to do the same thing :)
     
  3. minggusb2205 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #3
  4. smellalot, Jul 28, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2012

    smellalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #4
    To anyone else who might be interested in this:
    I now have this running with a AVM fritzbox (popular router in Germany) set to 11g only and an airport express 2. gen set to n(b/g compatible).
    My iPad 2 is roaming fine. Haven't tested my iPhone 3GS or MacBook Air though.

    Edit: forgot to mention the 'little' detail that the routers are hardwired.
     

Share This Page