Wireless cut off after 3metres!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by coconut2674, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. coconut2674 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    Hey,
    I have a netgear dg834g wireless router, and a MacBook running os x 10.5.6.
    Now when I'm in the living room next to the router, the signal is nice and strong, no problems. But when I move to the kitchen and out of sight of the router, about 2/3metres- it cuts out!

    This also hapena when I go up to my room, when I stand just above where the router is I get a weak signal, but otherwise - none. My xp netbook connects ok, is this a mac problem? Or does anyone know if the problem is netgear?

    Pulling my hair out with it at this stage!
     
  2. darrenscerri macrumors regular

    darrenscerri

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Location:
    Malta
    #2
    Make sure the antenna is screwed properly to the router. Otherwise make sure you have the latest Apple updates from Software Update. If the problem persists try connecting to a friend's router and if the same happens, go to an Apple Store to get your MB checked out.
     
  3. Matek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    If the PC laptop works well, it's almost definitely the Mac's fault. Lake darrenscerri said, try a friend's router just to be sure and then take the laptop to an apple store for repair.
     
  4. iBecks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    I've used the same router and there doesn't seem to be any compatiability issues between them.

    It's almost definitely a MacBook problem, take it to your local Apple store to have it looked at.
     
  5. coconut2674 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    Thanks guys, tried it on another friends routers, same problem! I live in Ireland, there's no 'official' mac shop here, and of world is so far. I think it might be 10.5.6, so I'm gonna go back to 10.5, it doesn't hurt to try I think?

    If that doesn't work, I'm gonna race to a repair centre...

    Thanks for your suggestions!
     
  6. s0ggynach0s macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #6
    i have the same problem. also have a macbook pro and when im downstairs in my basement next to my router i get full bars in airport, but when i go upstairs its weak than it cuts out. my brother has an older macbook and his works fine upstairs. i'll try a software update i guess?
     

Share This Page