Wireless drops

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MontyW, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. MontyW macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    My iMac and Airport is driving me crazy... is there any solution that will stop my iMac constantly dropping my wireless connection to my router?

    I am a complete novice and I haven't got a clue on how to resolve this. This issue has only occurred since I upgraded to 10.5.6.

    I have done the basic stuff like downloading AP Grapher and have identified a number of nearby wireless networks and I have set my channel so they are not the same.

    There seems to be no time of day when my wireless connection drops. But I loose my wireless connection when waking up my Mac.

    As I type this message my wireless connection has gone and to get it back I have to go into Network preferences and select my network.

    Can anyone help as this problem has just about rendered my Mac useless!

    Thanks,

    Monty
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    You don't go into network preferences to select network. You use the thing on the menu bar.

    What router are you using? How old is it?
     
  3. MontyW thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #3
    Yep I use the Airport icon on the menu bar to select my network.

    Router is a NetGear Rangemax DG834N and is about 5 months old.
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    Try the new Airport update out today through Software Update.
     
  5. MontyW thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #5
    Nope still randomly dropping. Could be a hardware problem?
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Netgear is well know for constantly dropping connections.
    Have you ever updated its firmware? What about power cycle?

    Try a router from Apple, Linksys, D-Link. You can get one from a retailer with good return policy in case it doesn't work, but I suspect your problems will go away after getting a new router.
     

Share This Page