Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WIFF

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
Hi.
First off, I'm a newb to the Mac world, but not to computers or forums. I've tried searching to no avail. Here's my problem:
I just got a new iMac 24" 2.8GHz with 4GB RAM. I connect to the internet rather easily through AirPort (via my DSL connection to a router in the other room.) I am running WEP, and can access the wifi net, and even surf. The problem I have is that if I get up and walk away for about 5-10 minutes, the connection breaks. I then have to go back and allow airport to "find" the network, and then supply the password again to get back on the net. It is really annoying, especially if I am running something that needs the net connection, like system update. I have full bars on the airport icon.
I have searched the forum for this problem, but so far haven't found any posts that sound similar to my problem. Is there a configuration tweak I can do to get airport to stop disconnecting, or if it does disconnect, can it reconnect without asking me for my password every time?!

Thanks in advance,

WIFF

yellowcanary73

macrumors newbie
Sep 2, 2008
McKinney,Texas
Hi.
First off, I'm a newb to the Mac world, but not to computers or forums. I've tried searching to no avail. Here's my problem:
I just got a new iMac 24" 2.8GHz with 4GB RAM. I connect to the internet rather easily through AirPort (via my DSL connection to a router in the other room.) I am running WEP, and can access the wifi net, and even surf. The problem I have is that if I get up and walk away for about 5-10 minutes, the connection breaks. I then have to go back and allow airport to "find" the network, and then supply the password again to get back on the net. It is really annoying, especially if I am running something that needs the net connection, like system update. I have full bars on the airport icon.