Wireless internet failure on XP but not OS 10.5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by j2p4h, Aug 6, 2008.

1. j2p4h macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm new to macs and new to this forum, though I've searched a long time to try to find a way to fix this problem.

I am running OS 10.5 and it has no issues with connectivity on my wireless network. As well, a PC computer in my house has no issues connecting to this same wireless network on a cheap USB reciever so this is quite vexing for me.

While running XP Home SP2, enabling either WPA or WPA2 (I've tried both but I am confident based on the router that it is just WPA), I have been unable to connect to my network. Windows tells me it is connecting to the network after I give it the WPA password and displays a loading bar for a period of time before it gives up and the loading window goes away, the network still unconnected. I have tried connecting in the same way at a friend's house to a WPA encrypted network and got the same result, where others were able to connect, although on PCs.

If I disable the encryption on my router or change it to a WEP encryption, I can connect to the network wirelessly but internet connectivity is weak and occasionally cuts out. This is not my greatest concern, however.

I can connect to the network on XP with a wired connection. I have loaded all the drivers from the Leopard disc and reloaded them just to be sure.

I would like to know if this is a hardware problem and I should bring it in somewhere for service or if I just need to change some settings or possibly load a third party program to manage my connection.

Hardware:
    MacBook Pro (Shipped with 10.5)
    NETGEAR WGR614 v4 Router

Thanks and I apologize in advance if I've missed any critical details or this exact problem has come up before and I've just missed it in my searching. I don't know the details of the network at the friend's house, unfortunately.

2. MarkMS macrumors 6502a