Wireless iStorm Speakers

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ebony, Jun 16, 2007.

1. ebony macrumors regular

Now this is probably a stupid question... but I'm quite new to the mac world.

I have a new iMac, and wanted to get itunes music into the conservatory without any wires.

If I purchase a set of iStorm wireless speakers ( link below ), do I just turn the wirless feature on, on the speakers, then turn aiport on the imac on, and then the speakers appear as a network connection in the airport settings ?

Please can someone explain to a very confused user ?

Thanks.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/iSTORM-Powe...?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1182022424&sr=8-18

2. LeviG macrumors 65816

no you need to buy an airport express adapter too.

Which basically means the airport express is needed to get wireless but you can also use any speakers that have an internal amp.

3. ebony thread starter macrumors regular

So my imac speaks to my router which speaks wirelessley to the airport express, which can speak wirelessley to the speakers ?

Thanks.

4. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

No Airport Express would be your router i believe has a standard headphone jack in it so that you could plug any computer speaker into it and it would play, although it sounds as if you could have the Air Port Express speak directly to the speakers so it would be:

iMac speaks to Airport, Airport speaks to Speakers

5. ebony thread starter macrumors regular

Thank you, just wanted to be sure that there does not have to be any wires between the speakes and the airport express.

6. LeviG macrumors 65816

there are wires from the aiport express (its this) to the speakers.

so if you have wireless setup.
    imac wireless to wireless router
    wireless router to airport express
    airport express to speakers via cable(s)

7. ebony thread starter macrumors regular

I see, thanks.