Wireless mirroring of iPad 2 in iOS 5

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Mr. Luigi, Sep 9, 2011.

1. Mr. Luigi macrumors member

I am a physics teacher and I am DESPERATE for a solution to this situation. I have a new commercial projector in my classroom. It does NOT accept HDMI inputs. It does accept VGA. I want to be able to use WIRELESS mirroring with my iPad 2 when iOS 5 comes out using my projector. But, wireless mirroring needs the Apple TV and the Apple TV only outputs an HDMI signal to your display device. The installers of my projector did include a converter box with my system. The converter box has an HDMI plug that could accept the HDMI signal from the Apple TV. Since iOS 5 is not out yet, I can't test the wireless mirror function with the Apple TV. However, I have used Apple's HDMI+charger dongle, attached an HDMI cable to it. Attached the other end of the HDMI cable to the converter box. The converter box then sends a VGA signal to my projector and audio signal to my powered speakers. When I connected my iPad 2 to my projector this way, it did not work. I get audio, but no video. So, I am assuming when I use an Apple TV with iOS 5 it also won't work. Is the iPad 2 very particular about what converter box you use? Would a different converter box work? Wireless mirroring would be a HUGE feature for me. I teach Astronomy and it would be awesome to use several of the better planetarium apps by holding the iPad 2 in my hands and move it around unencumbered by cables. I can see many other situations where not having cables attached to my iPad 2 would greatly enhance its functionality with certain apps. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. cshearer macrumors regular