Wireless N already enabled on purchase???

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by superspiffy, May 9, 2007.

  1. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #1
    I recently bought this 2.33ghz MBP and I was about to purchase the wireless n enabler until I went to Network utilities and saw this "802.11a/b/g/n." According to the Apple site, if I see this, wireless n is already enabled. Don't see how that could have happened... I haven't purchased a new router or anything. (I'm still using an old Belkin b router.) Do the latest MBP models come with already enabled wireless n? If that's true then why don't the online specs say that?
     
  2. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #2
    My MBP seems to have already been "enabled" as well. It was bought about a month ago.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    802.11n was already built into MBPs, but not enabled until a firmware patch of some sort enabled it in the last couple months or so.
    Clearly the image used on the new MBPs were updated as much as possible before shipped.
     
  4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #4
    since the enabler and 802.11n airport extreme base station came out, all new shipping macs that had the n-draft wireless were enabled.
     
  5. coledog macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    #5
    And if you still aren't convinced go to Applications>Utilities>Network Utility.
    Select from the drop-down menu "(en1)". At the bottom of the page that comes up it should say "(802.11 a/b/g/n)".
     
  6. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #6
    sweeet!

    still kinda puzzling why they wouldn't update their specs though...

    oh well im not complaining :D
     
  7. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    My MBP seems to have already been "enabled" as well. It was bought about a month ago. A colleague's MacBook boought two weeks ago also has it anbled out of the box (he didn't even know what "n" was).

    Shame too. Like a dolt, I bought the enabler before actually checking to see if I already had it. I had assumed that since I never bought the enabler separately nor ran it, my MBP didn't have it yet!
     
  8. Dice-K macrumors newbie

    Dice-K

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary
    #8
    My Macbook also has the wireless N enabled and I didn't do a thing to get it except maybe a firmware update, thats all. So MacBooks should also be enabled.
     

Share This Page