Wireless N problems with Macbook pro 2009

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by earthdan, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. earthdan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #1
    Hello all,

    It appears that my macbook pro (2009, 2.8 ghz, nvidia 9700/9400) is unable to connect to my wireless N network as an N device (WPA2). I would really appreciate if someone took the time to help me get it working with N again.

    My mbp connects but my router (Dlink 615) is telling me that it is really connected as a G device. Unfortunately, this causes my whole network to only be a G network also. I have tried disabling G by setting to only N but my mbp does not connect at all, while all my other devices connect to N just fine (ipad and macbook). I have just tried a different router (linksys wrt310N) doing the same thing, but with the same result.

    Is there a way to specify what wireless my mbp uses in system prefs or anything? It seems really strange that it only uses the g network and also that I havent noticed this before!

    If anybody has any idea of how to solve this very annoying problem that would be great!

    cheers,
    Dan
     
  2. iPhone1 macrumors 65816

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Your MacBook Pro has the draft-n wireless protocol. Maybe your router uses the later spec. of 802.11n?
     
  3. earthdan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #3
    thanks for the reply,

    It may be draft N but I figured since my wife's macbook (early 2009) can connect to wireless N no problem, then I could also (late 2009 mbp).

    cheers,
    Dan
     
  4. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #4
    You definitely should be able to connect to the wireless N as an N device. Have you tried repairing disk permissions or running a program like DiskWarrior or Drive Genius 2?
     
  5. earthdan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #5
    So I figured at least a solution for the problem although I can offer no explanation of why it works.

    I went to my router page (both the dlink and linksys) and switched the wpa2 security to tkip and aes (before I had it set only to tkip for some reason). Voila, connected as an N device!

    Thanks for the replies tho!

    cheers,
    Dan
     

Share This Page