Wireless N Router with 10.2.5???

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by paul17win, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. paul17win macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    will a newer wireless router work with an old imac G4 running 10.2.5? not wirelesly but through ethernet???
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  3. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #3
    well most routers under System Requirments state that OS X 10.4 is needed to operate. ????
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    I have no idea why these router manufacturers would do that. Perhaps it's just lack of knowledge about Macs... I remember a time when Linksys didn't support using Macs with their routers, but it worked fine...
     
  5. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    The requirements are for wireless I think.

    Should be fine through the ethernet port.
     
  6. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #6
    so i would hook my old G4 running 10.2 up through the ethernet then would i be fine with a new MBP hooking up wirelessly ??
     
  7. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    I'm guessing its a support standpoint. They have got to draw the line somewhere on what OS level their support specialists are knowledgeable about.

    To the OP ... it should work just fine.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    Yes. There's no reason why that won't work. Even if you decided to go wireless with your old G4, it should work.
     
  9. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #9
    even though the router requires 10.4 ???
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
    There's no reason why it won't work. The important thing is that both ends adhere to the 802.11g standards.
     
  11. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #11
    I have old g3s running 8.6 connected by ethernet cable that works just fine. Any ethernet device will work through a router via cable. Even my old G3 laptop running OS 9.1 connects just fine wirelessly (but of course not in n mode).

    If the router has its own config/control software (like the apple products), it may require a more modern OS. I think the new TCs require 10.5.+. Most other routers are configurable by web page. But as someone said, the manufacture often draws a line on what OS they answer questions about.

    I can configure my modern actiontek router with my 2002 vintage netscape browzer on my OS 9.1 laptop for example.. but I wouldn't expect actiontek to answer OS specific questions.
     
  12. paul17win thread starter macrumors member

    paul17win

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #12
    what kind of router do you have?
     
  13. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #13
    If you're looking for router recommendations, I have nothing but good things to say about the D-Link DIR-655 and, yes, your machine running OS X 10.2.5 will work fine with it.
     

Share This Page