Wireless N

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by teknikal90, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #1
    Hey guys, ive got a macbook pro penryn...which has wireless draft n...
    now my current router is broken and i need a new one...so naturaly i want to get an N router..
    BUT ive been hearing that the macbook pro has some issue with some routers so i dont really know which to choose...my budget is around $150 Australian...
    this is a really cheap shop in my area:
    http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products_listnew.phtml?id=10&bid=4&id2=122

    which out of those should i get?

    ps: i (my family) will have 4 PCs connected to it. 1 through wired connection, 1 through wireless g, occasionally 1 wifi g laptop, my macbook pro, and a playstation 3

    THANKS FOR YOUR HELP

    edit=reliability is my number 1 priority, then speed.
     
  2. Wolvngelz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Brunei + Melbourne
    #2
    I am currently afraid to run my MBP wirelessly if it's a Linksys router.
     
  3. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #3
    why's that? I'm currently on my third MBP and I've used all of them on my Linksys router w/o any issues at all.
     
  4. Csmitte macrumors 6502

    Csmitte

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    You know when I first bought my MBP I had a Linksys wr 350N gigabit, its grey and black in color and worked superbly with my Dell XPS 1210. But I kept getting kicked off with my MBP. I mean alot I started getting really PO'd so I bought Apple's Wireless Extreme. I have not had a problem since the switch and I even got $100 for the old router. do research see what works for people then compare it to your needed criteria.

    Cheers.
     
  5. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
  6. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    I've had tons of problems since upgrading to 10.5.2 and I'm using an Airport Extreme Base Station. I know it's the Mac side because streaming video works fine on my AppleTV. But I try to play it on this through iTunes and it goes about 4 seconds before giving me the ol' spinning beach ball. This doesn't occur when I plug an Ethernet cable directly in, but it sure does when I try to use wireless (even sitting 2 feet from the AEBS).

    Having said that, I'd still get an AEBS. With N still being in the draft stage, you're more likely to have fewer problems with all Apple products than with someone else's.
     
  7. JTK28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #7

    Same here, i have a Linksys WRT54G, and have not had a single problem connecting or staying connected.
     
  8. wk127001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #8
  9. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    another thing,

    the problem that im having with my router is as follows...
    i have a windows pc also wifi connected to the router...but when i connect with the macbook pro, the router drops connection to both pcs.
    when i try to connect just the macbook pro, sometimes i get REALLY annoying popups saying 'Wireless Network appears to have been compromised and will be disabled for a bout a minute'.....sometimes the connection would drop, and to regain connection, id have to turn of airport on the macbook and turn it back on...or else id get a timeout error.
    im running leopard 10.5.2
    i look around the net and it appears im not the only one...can anyone suggest why this i happening?and would a new router fix it?
     
  10. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #10
    I've been using a Lynksys WRT-150N router since I got my 2.2 GHz MPB last June. The performance is great and I have had no problems. I've been running 10.5.2 for a while.
     
  11. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #11
    what security are you using? WPA?or WEP?or none?
    with 'none' i get no problems at all
     
  12. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #12
    I'm using WPA. However, my network is very simple. It's mostly just my MBP connecting through the router to the internet. Occasionally, I also connect a Windows XP laptop (802.11-G). It's been a while since I moved data between the MBP and the Windows machine, but it did work well when I was setting up the MBP. (I was running Tiger at that time.)
     
  13. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    i hear somewhere that if you run two computers, one in G mode and the other in draft n, the router will default to G speeds on both?true?
    cause then id feel no need to use N
     
  14. DocSmitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    #14
    I second the vote on Linksys WRT150N. Got it for a good price, and after updating firmware (it was one of the first draft versions) I have had no problem running the MBP wireless with N, plus a wireless printer and PC. Download speeds on the MBP are as high as they are on my desktop with an ethernet cable.
     
  15. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #15
    doc smitty & KevinC867
    what security are you using? WPA?

    and hows the range on that linksys?


    im seriously considering it
     
  16. tanjacob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #16
    How about a G router? An typical one is 1/3 the price of a N router and you don't need to mix g and n devices. I think some N routers don't do well with mixed networks. The typical home internet connection may be a bottleneck, and you can always get a decent N (not draft) when it is ready some time later without being pressured to get one in a hurry.
     
  17. Achiever macrumors 6502

    Achiever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #17
    This is true, at least with an AEBS (so I would also assume that is the case with most/all other routers as well). While it is great to have N running, if one or more other laptops using the router are actively running g, you will be downgraded to g download speed on your MBP. That said, the AEBS is likely to give you the best fit with the MBP and the others. I cannot speak to any of the other routers named.
     
  18. Mott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #18
    Go with a N capable router. I'm running a Linksys 350n with no issues right now. When I first got the new MBP installed it's network would come and go, but I've since corrected it via the router's network broadcasting settings. I have three laptops connected, Dell Inspiron, G4 Ibook and the new Mac Book Pro.
     
  19. ozziegn macrumors 6502a

    ozziegn

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central FL Area
    #19
    yup. that's the same router I use and I never miss a connection between it and my MBP.
     
  20. markrivers macrumors 6502a

    markrivers

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    Valencia, California
    #20
    i have a netgear rangemax N MIMO router.
    works great with my MBP.

    when i opened the box last week (MBP)
    it connected to the router with ease..
    i just typed the passkey once and up to now, i don't have any problems..
    zero!
     
  21. teknikal90 thread starter macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #21
    whats the model number of your router?
     
  22. Sinsocal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #22
    I have been using the Netgear WNDR 3300 for about two weeks now and have no problems with my MBP. It is a newer router so I am not sure of availability oversees yet. The good thing about this router is that it is dual band so the N and G networks don't mix. I have my MBP on the 5ghz N network and the rest of the devices on the 2.4ghz G network.
     

Share This Page