Wireless network help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sambo110, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Somehow we have used nearly 500 megs of our downloads today, and I only used my Touch to browse a few sites, download a few apps etc, so maybe 50 megs worth. I have always had a feeling someone was connecting to out iMac's airport, so is there a program that shows who's connecting, or what devices etc? That would really help me. Thanks.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Does your wireless network have a password on it?
     
  3. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    Use password protection and, close your network
     
  4. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    No it doesn't, is it possible to do that with the iMac's Airport? Can I see who's connecting?
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    This is why you are having problems. Somebody sure appreciates the free hotspot, though.

    You currently have your computer set up as follows?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    But I share my Airport connection only to my Touch and my Wii, and maybe sometimes a DS...
     
  7. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #7
    You can still share to your wireless devices, you just need to make it harder for others to connect. Hide the SSID and implement a password.

    Check out this link for a "how to":http://www.macinstruct.com/node/103
     
  8. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    My airport is inbuilt, so I don't have menus like in that link.
     
  9. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #9
    From your OP it seemed you have an Apple Airport - the wireless router, but now I see you mean the airport network card.

    If you have a non apple wireless router, they are usually accessed via a browser and a default ip like 192.168.0.1

    It is advisable, though, to change these settings while you are attached via ethernet, for maximum security. You might want to look up the guide for your particular router to see where to change the SSID settings and the router password.
     
  10. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
  11. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    My router is not wireless. I have my iMac connected to ethernet, then it sends the wireless internet signals, or whatever, to the device.
     
  12. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #12
    In this case, your internet sharing range is very, very limited. I would not worry.
     
  13. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #13
    OK... ask enough questions and you get to the root. When you are on the sharing tab, click on the "Airport Options" button. Then enter a password for your shared access. See attachment for a visual.

    So enable encryption and then enter and confirm the password. Of course you will have to give this to anyone you want to grant access to.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Ok will try that^. Also, I can be in the back yard, with my computer like 10 metres away and at least 3-5 walls, and get full signal on my Touch, so I dunno.
     
  15. iVeBeenDrinkin' macrumors 65816

    iVeBeenDrinkin'

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #15
    I think your touch is connected to another network
     
  16. Sambo110 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    No it's not. It says Jillian's iMac, which is my mum's iMac.
     

Share This Page