Wireless Network Range?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Stetwin, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. Stetwin macrumors 6502

    Stetwin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    England - Co-Durham
    #1
    At the moment I’m using a router that came with our broadband supplier when we signed up last year, the router is fine for the ground floor of my house but when upstairs I get atrocious signal levels if any at all! Is there any way to increase my signal strength on the first floor of my home?
     
  2. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
  3. Stetwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Stetwin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    England - Co-Durham
    #3
    are they expensive? and are there any good cheap ones out there?
     
  4. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #4
    The reason for my abruptness was that's basically the limit of my knowledge!

    However, I think (if memory serves me right) they tend to be around the £50 mark, but I'm sure there will be some cheaper ones. Really can't recommend any as I haven't used any! There might be compatibilty issues with using another make - who made your router?

    Sure you've probably tried this, but a friend had similar trouble but managed to avoid getting an extender by moving the router (as in placing it somewhere else, not waving it about).
     
  5. Maui macrumors 6502a

    Maui

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #5
    You didn't list what type of router you have. Assuming it is 802.11g, you could consider getting an 802.11n router instead. They are advertised as having 4x the range of g routers, and my experience with the Linksys Wireless-N Gigabit Router bears that out. You could try a range extender, but they are finicky and cost almost as much as an n router.

    Before you do anything, move your g router around a bit. Moving it even one foot left or right can in some cases make a big difference.
     
  6. Stetwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Stetwin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    England - Co-Durham
    #6
    Will an n router still work with everything i have connecting to my current g one?

    Also what do people think of the Apple routers?
     
  7. jensepollense macrumors regular

    jensepollense

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Tech/Blacksburg, VA
    #7
    I have an Airport Extreme base station downstairs, and because I never got very good signal on the second floor, I bought Airport Express for upstairs, and now I have good signal up here again.
     
  8. Maui macrumors 6502a

    Maui

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #8
    Impossible to say, since you haven't listed what "everything" devices you are asking about, but the answer is probably "yes." Every pre-n router I have seen is backward compatible with g and b devices (but not necessarily a devices). My Linksys pre-n router connects to my wife's computer at pre-n speeds (about 275 Mbps) because her computer has a pre-n network card. The same router connects to my work Thinkpad at g speeds, and connects to my old HP printer at b speeds.

    So, assuming you buy a pre-n router that is compatible with g and b, and assuming your other devices are g and b devices, yes, it should work.
     
  9. Stetwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Stetwin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    England - Co-Durham
    #9
    The other devices are mainly games consoles such as Nintendo Wii, xBox 360 and PS3 but the PS3 is more important then the others

    Are the new macbooks and macbook pros -n compatible or are they still -g?
     
  10. Stetwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    Stetwin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    England - Co-Durham
    #12

Share This Page