Wireless Network with PS2

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jadunlop, May 8, 2007.

  1. jadunlop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #1
    Hi there, first time here!

    I used to have a happy network: iMac to Airport Extreme Base Station plugged into a BT Voyager Router Modem with a PS2 plugged into the Airport Extreme BS via ethernet!

    Now I have changed to Sky Broadband and they gave me a wireless Netgear Router Modem which my iMac connects to wirelessly for the net. (My PS2 and Airport Extreme BS were put in the cupboard)

    However I dug my PS2 and plugged into 1 of the 4 ethernet ports at the back of the Netgear Router and managed to go online as before. But I'd rather have my PS2 plugged into the AEBS in the living room and connected to the Netgear wirelessly (Netgear is in the dining room) to go online with.

    I tried this but the PS2 would not go online and obviously the AEBS is not connecting to the Netgear. :(

    Has anyone any ideas how to do this?

    Thanks

    James Dunlop
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You are trying to use an Airport Basestation as an ethernet<->WiFi bridge? I'm not sure if that is supported. Is there an option for bridge mode in the setup?
     
  3. jadunlop thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    Yes! I suppose a WiFi bridge is what I'm wanting to use it for!

    I'd love to know (remember) how to get into the setup of the AEBS!

    Do I connect via the iMac and type in an IP address to access the AEBS?

    Cheers

    Jim
     
  4. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #4
    You need to use the Airport Setup Utility in your Utilities Folder to change settings on your extreme base station.
     
  5. jadunlop thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    Do you know the setting I'd need to change?

    Thanks

    Jim
     

Share This Page