Wireless Or Ethernet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BikerAlley, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. BikerAlley macrumors member

    BikerAlley

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Shreveport LA
    #1
    I just figured out I was connecting to my wireless network as well as having it connected with Ethernet.
    I new my speeds where up and down but just figured it was trouble with the cable system.
    I turned the Airport Off and now my speed is good and steady.
    I would think one would over ride the other.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Typically if there is a wired connection it will override the wireless, even though the wireless will still be connected.
     
  3. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #3
    I don't know that is true... though I don't know it isn't true. I do know that if you look at the Network Settings in Preferences there is a way to "order" the network services. I have assumed if the Airport (wireless) service came first, then when the system finds a working Airport connection it stops looking down the list.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    It's set to default to ethernet, so unless you change it, that's how it will be. It doesn't ignore the other connection, it just doesn't really use it.
     
  5. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #5
    I'm not positive about this but I believe the order your system will use is the order they are in under the Network Preferences. If Airport is listed first that is what it's going to use as the default. You can easily change the order of the items by clicking the box with the gear at the bottom of the box and choose Set Service Order
     
  6. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
  7. BikerAlley thread starter macrumors member

    BikerAlley

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Shreveport LA
    #7
    Well I'm A noobie to mac so for what it's worth I just turned Airport Off and it did seam to give faster load times.
    Either way, I'm a happy camper:)
     
  8. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I do believe that wired trumps wireless, even if airport is on...
     

Share This Page